Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

All library databases


Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
ACLS Humanities Ebooks

Collection of over 3,300 books of high quality in the humanities that are recommended and reviewed by scholars frequently cited in the literature.

Access: John Jay
ACM Digital Library

Full text of over 300,000 articles published by the Association of Computing Machinery and indexes over 1.6 million articles, books, reports and conference proceedings in the computing literature.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
AGRICOLA

Index to books and journal articles in agriculture; useful for forensic science.

Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database

Citations to articles, books, and reports on alcohol abuse and alcoholism. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

America History and Life

Index to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada and links to some fulltext from 1964 to the present.


Mobile site
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
American Chemical Society Journals

Full-text of articles from a collection of the American Chemical Society journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
American Factfinder

Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau; includes 2000 census.

American History in Video

More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
American Memory Historical Collections

Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress' National Digital Library Program.

Access: All
Amnesty International Library

Makes available the text of news and newsletters, reports, actions, press releases, and other information about human rights issues around the world.

Annual Reviews

Collection of Annual Review Journals featuring literature reviews in the fields of Social Science.

Access: John Jay
Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute

Indexes anthropology and related journals back to the 1970's. Excellent source for cross-cultural studies of crime, drug use, and violence.

Access: All
AnthroSource

From the American Anthropological Association, includes current issues of several of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, plus an electronic archive of all AAA journals.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Applied Science & Technology Source

Articles in journals and trade publications covering the applied sciences, including engineering, math, physics, and computer technology with coverage dating back to 1913. 

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts

Indexes subjects in the applied social sciences including mental health services, social work, and substance abuse.

Access: John Jay
Art Abstracts

Index to articles in leading art periodicals from 1984 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Art Museum Image Gallery

A rich digital source of images and related multimedia of ancient to contemporary art, gathered from museums around the world.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Biography Reference Center

Original biographical profiles plus feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, obituaries, and images.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Black Drama

Full text of plays by playwrights from the USA, the Caribbean, and English-speaking countries in Africa. Excellent source for Harlem Renaissance writers.

Access: John Jay
Black Thought and Culture

Contains the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, and includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other ephemeral material.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Book Review Digest Plus

Provides excerpts or the full text of book reviews of current English-language fiction and non-fiction works from 1983 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Books in Print

Contains bibliographic information of books currently in print, forthcoming books, and book reviews.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Bookshelf from NCBI

A growing collection of searchable biomedical books hosted by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, which advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Access: All
Bureau of Justice Statistics

Searchable statistical reports on all aspects of criminal justice in the US.

Access: All
Burney Newspaper Collection--17th and 18th Centuries

A comprehensive collection of early English newspapers from London, the British Isles, and colonies, including many American titles.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost)

Full text of peer-reviewed journals and magazines, country and industry reports, and case studies covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Census of Population and Housing 2010

Gateway to the 2010 Census from the U. S. Census Bureau.

Access: All
ChemID

A dictionary of chemicals, synonyms, structures, and regulatory list information.

Access: All
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Comprehensive source for theory and research in foreign affairs; includes working papers from university research institutes and NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
CINAHL

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature with links to full text.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Cinema Image Gallery

Quality images from television, the movies, and the entertainment industry.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Journal articles, encyclopedias and handbooks in the fields of communications and mass media.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Contemporary Women's Issues

Journal articles, reports, newsletters, and articles from alternative press sources.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Counseling and Therapy in Video

375 hours of videos of dramatized consultations, counseling sessions, and scenes, as well as documentaries, interviews and lectures

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Country Studies

Library of Congress authored books describing and analyzing the political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions of over 100 countries

Access: All
CQ Almanac

Details about proposed bills and legislation in the House and Senate from 1945 through 2008. Covers topics such as immigration, taxation, health care reform, etc.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Electronic Library

Twelve CQ publications available - including online editions of Congress and the Nation, Supreme Court Yearbook, and Vital Statistics on American Politics.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Global Researcher

Reports on international topics such as torture, nationalization of energy resources, peacekeeping around the world, etc.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Researcher Plus Archive

Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Coverage from 1923 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Supreme Court Collection

Historical analysis, timely updates and expert commentary on Supreme Court decisions. Also includes biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Weekly

Weekly reports on the activities of the U.S. Congress including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Coverage from 1983 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Crime in New York

An index to the Lloyd Sealy Library's Trial Transcripts of the County of New York 1883-1927. Several transcripts have been digitized and are available online.

Access: All
Crime Report (www.thecrimereport.org)

Comprehensive news service published by the Center for Media, Crime and Justice, at John Jay College, covering challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the United States.

Access: John Jay
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext

Provides scholarly articles and annotations of books and book chapters in criminal justice. Coverage from 1968 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video

Over 400 documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals in the criminal justice system.

Access: John Jay
Criminal Justice Data for New York State

Searchable statistical reports on criminal justice in NY state from the NY Division of Criminal Justice Services.

Access: All
Criminal Justice Periodical Index

Articles and images from national and international publications in criminal justice. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

Access: John Jay
CUNY+ Catalog

Find books, media and electronic resources in John Jay and and all CUNY Libraries.

Access: All
Directory of Open Access Books

A discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license.

Access: All
Directory of Open Access Journals

Contains free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals that aims to cover all subjects and languages. There are over 1000 journals in the directory.

Access: All
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations)

Full text of dissertations published from 1997 and abstracts from 1980. Also, Indexes close to two million dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe from 1861.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
DSM-5

The most current edition of the standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals; each psychiatric disorder with its corresponding diagnostic code is accompanied by a set of diagnostic criteria and descriptive details.

Access: John Jay
DSM-IV-TR

The standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals; each psychiatric disorder with its corresponding diagnostic code is accompanied by a set of diagnostic criteria and descriptive details.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Early English Books Online

EEBO contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.

Access: John Jay
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
EBSCOhost Business Source Complete

Peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles, as well as country and industry reports, and case studies covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
EBSCOhost MasterFILE Premier

Articles from many popular sources covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
EBSCOhost Military and Government Collection

Articles from journals and other periodicals and current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Econlit

Access to articles in international economic journals, as well as essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Coverage from 1969 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Economist Historical Archive

The full text of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs, business and trade worldwide.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Education Source

For full-text resources in education with coverage dating back to 1929.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Eighteenth Century Collections Online

A digital archive of 150,000 books published in the eighteenth century, covering a broad spectrum of topics like law, history, science, and art.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Emerald Fulltext

A collection of close to two hundred leading management and library and information services journals.

Access: John Jay
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences

Electronic equivalent of the 3-volume encyclopedia.

Access: John Jay
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

A subject collection of periodicals and unique reference sources from Gale Academic Onefile.

Access: John Jay
ERIC

Provides access to journal articles and documents in education. Coverage from 1966 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Essay and General Literature Index

Index to 65,000 essays in 5,300 anthologies and collections. Coverage spans a range of the humanities and social sciences.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Ethnic Newswatch

Access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Ethnographic Video Online

750 hours of videos from the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Europeana

Europeana provides direct access to more than 15 million photos, paintings, film clips, audio files, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers, and archival papers from major European cultural institutions.

Access: All
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)

Reports by industry practitioners on wireless communications, data networking, security, streaming media, government information technology and healthcare IT topics, information management, the internet and web.

Access: John Jay
Faulkner Security Management Practices

Reports by industry practitioners on facility, IT, network, personnel, financial and legal security, risk and crisis management, and public safety.

Access: John Jay
FedStats

Gateway to U.S. government statistics from over 100 agencies.

Access: All
Films on Demand

Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Fire Codes Online

Online version of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) National Fire Codes. (Note: only one user at a time permitted. PLEASE LOG OFF WHEN DONE.)

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
FIREDOC

Index to over 70,000 technical documents, conference proceedings, and journal articles on all aspects of fire science, safety and engineering; some entries have links to online BFRL Publications.

Access: All
FireINF

Index to documents concerning fire, emergency management and forensics; some documentation of European legislation in these area, with heavy focus on British publications.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Flickr: the Commons

The project currently includes over 200,000 images from more than 50 international cultural heritage institutions.

Access: All
FORENSICnetBASE

A searchable collection of over 300 reference books in forensic science and related fields.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Gale Academic OneFile

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale Artemis Literary Sources

Portal for cross-searching literary databases from Gale, including these databases:

 

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale Business Insight Essentials

Information on companies, markets and industries from business and trade journals, newspapers, downloadable directory profiles, and market and rankings reports.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale General OneFile

Access to articles in general periodicals, newspapers, reference books, as well as multimedia sources. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, and politics.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale Health Reference Center Academic

Access to nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale Newsstand

Hundreds of newspapers from the U.S. and foreign presses.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gannett Newspapers

Local and regional news from 1991 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Gartner Resource Center

Research and analysis on the global information technology industry; includes research papers on best practices and emerging industries and technologies.

Access: CUNY
General Science Full Text

Access to popular and professional science journals published in the U.S. and Great Britain. Coverage from 1984 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Getty Publications Virtual Library

Provides free online access to more than 250 backlist titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute, with new titles added on an ongoing basis.

Access: All
Global Issues in Context

Provides news, global viewpoints, country information, primary source documents, statistical data and multimedia resources on a broad range of global issues and current events.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Google Book Search

Google is in the process of scanning complete books from some of the world's great libraries. Books in the public domain can be read in their entirety. Some books will display in part.

Access: All
Google Scholar

Crawls (indexes) the content of publishers' websites, scholarly journals, indexes, academic websites, institutional repositories, etc. to find information of a scholarly nature. Does not provide comprehensive coverage of any one field. Enter through the library's website so that you will be linked to the library's licensed resources. 

Access: All
GPO U. S. Government Printing Office, Keeping America Informed

Catalog to the official and authentic government publications of Congress and Federal agencies.

Access: All
GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general-interest information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Grolier Online

Contains the Encyclopedia Americana, the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and the New Book of Knowledge.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Guide to Law Online

An annotated guide to national and international sources of government and legal information prepared by the Law Library of Congress; includes links to treaties, constitutions, and codes.

Access: All
Health and Safety Science Abstracts

In association with the Univ. of Southern California Inst. of Safety and Systems Mgmt., provides access to articles in public health, occupational safety, emergency management, toxicology, fire safety, and security. Coverage from 1981 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Health Reference Center Academic

Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Access to articles in scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Hein Online

Several historical American and international law collections incuding law reviews and journals from their first volume of publication, the Federal Register, Presidential Documents, Attorney Generals Opinions, World Constitutions, and legal classics.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Historical Abstracts

Provides access to academic historical journals that cover the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage is from 1955 to the present.


Mobile site
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Humanities Source

Articles in all aspects of the humanities including art, ltierature, music and philosophy, with access dating back to 1907.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
ICPSR

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research provides access to an archive of social science data. Datasets are available for statistical manipulation. For advanced users.

Access: John Jay
In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries…

An index to letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies that are either freely available on the Web or in subscription-only databases. (Note: we may not have access to all materials in this database.)

Access: John Jay
InfoSECURITY netBASE

A searchable collection of over 60 handbooks on information technology security.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Infoshare Online

Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data, and more for New York City.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

An index to the social sciences that is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.

Access: John Jay
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

Selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, blogs, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.


Mobile site
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
JSTOR

A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Learning Resource Center of the National Fire Academy

Library catalog of the National Fire Academy. Indexes journal articles, books, and reports in fire science and emergency management. Items not owned by John Jay may be available via Interlibrary Loan.

Access: All
Legal Source

Articles on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world with coverage dating back to 1908.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
LexisNexis Academic

Federal and state laws and cases, constitutions, municipal codes, law review articles, as well as articles from U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines, trade publications and journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
LGBT Life

Contains the full text for hundreds of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers as well as monographs and books.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Library & Information Science Source

Articles in the field of library, information science, and education techology.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Covers all aspects of the study of language and to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Access: John Jay
Literature Resource Center – GALE Artemis

Portal for searching Literature Resource Center database which provides access to full text biographies, critical analyses, reviews, and bibliographies of work from novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.  Portal cross-searches other Gale literature databases including LitFinder, MLA Bibliography, Twayne's Authors Series and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
LitFinder

Full text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches. Also includes biographies, work summaries and photographs.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
LLMC (Law Library Microfilm Collection) - Digital

An archival collection of legal materials with historical federal legislative, executive and judicial papers (including temp. commisions like the Wickersham Comm.), selected state documents, and historically significant international documents.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Making of the Modern World

Provides the full text of 61,000 works of literature in business, politics, and economics published from 1450 to 1850. Includes the full Goldsmiths

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOHost)

Articles from many popular sources covering nearly all subjects including reference, business, health, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
MathSciNet

Articles in mathematics from the American Mathematical Society.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Medline (via PubMed)

National Library of Medicine's database (via PubMed interface) of millions of references to articles published in licensed or freely available biomedical journals.

Access: All
Medline with Full Text (EBSCOhost)

Provides many of the materials indexed in Medline. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
MEDLINEplus

Provides access to authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and other organizations as well as drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

Access: All
Mental Measurements Yearbook

Information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests of educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas; Yearbooks 9 through 19.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
MetPublications

A portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive book and online publishing program with close to 700 titles published from 1964 to the present.

Access: All
Military and Government Collection (EBSCOHost)

Articles from journals and other periodicals and current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
MLA Bibliography

Index to scholarly journal articles on language and literature. Coverage from 1926 to the present (Note: many are not available at John Jay.)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

Data collections relating to criminal justice from federal and state agencies, and grant-funded projects. Provides documentation, and browsing and downloading access to most of the data.

Access: All
National Geographic Magazine Archive

The complete archive from 1888 to 1994 of the award-winning magazine, which features in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and the environment; and spectacular photographic essays.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
National Newspaper Index

Indexes and provides access when available to the top five U.S. newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Coverage from 1977 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
NAXOS Music Library

A comprehensive collection of classical music available online, comprising the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues, which include Classical, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
NCBI Images

Images from the full text resources at the National Center for Biotechnology.

Access: All
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)

Searches and often provides the full text of federal, state, local, and foundation reports, as well as abstracts of journal articles and other websites.

Access: All
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations; full-text is free for all; excellent source for international dissertations.

Access: All
New York City Charter, Code, and Rules

Searchable and browsable public portal to the laws of New York City including:  New York City Charter,  New York City Administrative Code and the Rules of the City of New York.

Access: All
New York City Crime Map

Interactive crime map created by the NYPD showing date and location for  the seven major NYS penal law felonies (murder, rape, robbery, felonious assault, burglary, grand larceny and grand larceny motor vehicle). Data available for current and previous calendar year and by month within each period.

Access: All
New York Code, Rules, and Regulations (NYCRR)

Click on title to access in LexisNexis Academic and then click on TOC - Table of Contents -- in upper left hand side of screen Or arrows to browse.  See subject guide on Finding Legal Information for more information.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
New York State Law

Available in LexisNexis Academic. Click on the U. S. Legal tab on the left and then review the choices.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
New York State Newspapers

Access to a few dozen newspapers from NY State, including the Buffalo News, the Syracuse Herald American, the New York Post and the New York Observer.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
New York Times Historical File

Full text of articles and page images of The New York Times from 1851 to 2008.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
NewsLink

Contains links to thousands of online newspapers, magazines, and media (TV/radio) sites from the United States and the world, usually with free access to the publication.

Access: All
NFPA Codes Online

Online version of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) National Fire Codes.

Note: only one user at a time is permitted. PLEASE LOG OFF WHEN DONE.

Access: John Jay
Nineteenth Century Collections Online

An eclectic collection of digital collections of primary source materials mostly from British and American libraries.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Occupational Outlook Handbook

Biennial publication of the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Describes what workers do, working conditions, training and education needed, earnings and job prospects in a wide variety of occupations.

Access: All
Online Books Page

Provides author, title, and subject access to hundreds of thousands of non-copyrighted online books freely available on the Web.

Access: All
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, and multimedia on social issues.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Oxford Art Online

Access to the entire text of the 34 vol. Dictionary of Art from Grove, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetcis, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with updates and links to images.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Oxford Criminology Bibliography Online

Topic overviews and bibliographies on pertinent topics in criminal justice and law enforcement with links to the full text of sources when available.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Oxford English Dictionary Online

The complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series. The worldwide standard source for English word definitions, word pronunciation, word history and usage.

Access: CUNY
Oxford Music Online

Comprises The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
PAIS International

The Public Affairs Information Service was established to chronicle the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. The database contains and index to journal articles, government documents, grey literature and other materials from 1997 forward.

Access: John Jay
Palgrave Connect

Thousands of ebooks published by Palgrave Macmillan in the humanities, social sciences, and business.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Philosopher's Index

Index to books and journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages with some links to full text. Coverage from 1940 to the present.


Mobile site
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PILOTS

Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health conditions resulting from traumatic events.

Access: John Jay
Praeger Security International Online

Primary documents, books, and weekly commentary concerning foreign policy, military matters and security issues such as border control, disaster response, transportation security and terrorism.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings from the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.

Access: All
Professional Development Collection

Highly specialized collection of electronic information for professional educators, professional librarians and education researchers.


Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Project MUSE

An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Protection of Assets

Online access to the Protection of Assets Manual and Bulletin, the basic manual for security personnel.

Access: John Jay
Psyc Combined Databases

Search PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts), PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycEXTRA all together with one search.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycARTICLES

Thousands of articles from journals published by the APA and allied organizations. Coverage from 1988 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
PsycBOOKS

Books published by the APA, including 700 classics and more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.


Mobile site
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycCRITIQUES

Reviews of books and films from the APA.


Mobile site
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycEXTRA

Companion database to the scholarly PsycINFO database. It consists of technical and annual reports, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.


Mobile site
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Psychiatry Online

The homepage of the American Psychiatric Association with links to several of its journals, textbooks, and the DSM-5.

Access: John Jay
Psychological Experiments Online (TRIAL)

Psychological Experiments Online pairs audio and video recordings of quintessential experiments in psychology with thousands of pages of primary-source documents. It's packed with exclusive and hard-to-find materials, including notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, and final reports in topics from obedience to authority and conformity to operant conditioning. FREE TRIAL until March 27, 2014!  Please provide any feedback to marichards@jjay.cuny.edu.

Access: John Jay
PsycINFO

The most comprehensive index and access to materials in psychology articles and books. Coverage from 1887 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Public Administration Abstracts

Information on public administration and related areas such as organizational structures, public service personnel, economic issues, taxation, society issues, theory and research in the field.


Mobile site
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Public Library of Law

A collection of free law materials including case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, and federal and state constitutions.

Access: All
Pubmed

Searches citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some are free or available via a John Jay subscription. Some are for sale.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: all
Race and Justice Clearinghouse

An index to selected NGO reports, books and journal articles that focus on race and ethnicity and their interaction with the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems. Includes links to the full text of publications by the Sentencing Project.

Access: all
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Edition

Provides access to general-interest periodicals published in the U.S. from 1983 to the present as well as comprehensive indexing to periodicals published from 1890 to 1982.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Refworks

A web-based bibliographic citation management service that is useful for tracking citations, generating bibliographies and citing sources in papers.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Regional Business News

The most recent 30 days of information from a collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Risk Abstracts

Links to articles dealing with risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sage Communications Studies Journals

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in Communications and media studies.Coverage from 1955 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sage Criminology Full Text Collection

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in criminal justice, corrections, penology, and policing. Coverage from 1955 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sage Education Full Text Collection

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in Methodology, higher education, secondary education, vocational, measurement & testing, and educational psychology. Coverage from 1926 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sage Health Sciences Full Text Collection

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in social studies of health, public policy, health services & administration, health education, and community/public health nursing. Coverage from 1894 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sage Knowledge Collection

A searchable collection of subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers. Formerly called Sage e-Reference Collection.

Access: John Jay
Sage Management and Organization Studies Collection

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in organizations studies, management, business, human resource, marketing, public policy, public administration, and industrial relations. Coverage from 1947 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sage Political Science Full Text Collection

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in political science, American government, and policy studies. Coverage from 1912 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sage Psychology Full Text Collection

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in applied psychology, assessment, child development, clinical psychology, cognitive psychology, counseling psychology, and social psychology. Coverage from 1944 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sage Sociology Full Text Collection

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems published by Sage. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Science Direct

Access to journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Scirus

Finds scientific information on the Internet by searching a combination of web information, preprint servers, digital archives, and patent and journal databases.

Access: John Jay
SCOPUS

Access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Shepard's Citations

Search for cited cases and check the validity of a citation.

Available only through LexisNexis Academic. Click on 'Search by content type' on the upper right, then find Shepherd's Citations under 'Legal.'

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Slavery and Anti-Slavery

Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Social Explorer

Displays interactive maps of U.S. Census data going back to 1790.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Social Sciences Full Text

Provides accesses to journals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies from 1983 to the present and indexes material from 1929 to 1983.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Social Services Abstracts

Accesses journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, and current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

Access: John Jay
SocINDEX with Full Text

Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Sociological Abstracts

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online

Statistics from the current Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics with ongoing updates and the archive back to 1994. The print version is available at the Reference Desk.

Springerlink Online

Hundreds of scholarly journals and Ebooks published by Springer--not all indexed Ebooks are available fulltext. Coverage from 1997 to the present.

Access: CUNY
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Entries are maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field. Access is unlimited and free to everyone.

Access: All
Statista

An international statistical database that aggregates data and reports from more than 18,000 sources, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and market researchers.

Access: John Jay
Statistical Abstract of the United States

A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Access: John Jay
STATSnetBASE

A searchable collection of 400 reference books in statistics.

Access: John Jay
Supreme Court Database

Provides legal scholars with extensive data, like background issues, reasons for acceptance, chronology, outcome impacts, and judge's opinions, for Supreme Court Cases since 1953. Funded by the National Science Foundation.

Access: All
Testing & Education Reference Center

Provides information on undergraduate and graduate programs and interactive online practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing tests, including LSAT, GRE, and SAT, as well as civil service exams. Includes Peterson's Guides.

Access: John Jay
TOXNET

Indexes journal articles, books, and reports (written for scientists) on the toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

Access: All
TRACFED

Data about federal enforcement activities -- criminal, civil, and administrative -- including detailed information about federal staffing, federal enforcement agencies, and income and demographic statistics.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Transportation Article File

Index to articles in journals and books on transportation from Northwestern University's Transportation Library.

Access: All
Transportation Research Information Service (TRIS) Online

Provides access to 400,000 bibliographic records covering transportation research published in books, journal articles, technical reports and other media

Access: All
Twayne's Authors Series

Literary criticism and interpretation including nearly 900 books from six print series — U.S. Authors Series Classic, English Writers Series Classic, World Authors Series Classic, Masterwork Studies, Studies in Short Fiction, and updated editions of U.S. Authors, World Authors and English Authors.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Ulrich's Global Serials Directory

A source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types.

Access: John Jay
Uniform Crime Reports

The FBI's compendium of crime statistics. It includes volumes from 1995 to the present. The print version is available at the Reference Desk.

Access: All
Urban Studies Abstracts

Articles and reports as well as book abstracts about crime and other urban problems, possible solutions, studies of police departments, social welfare agencies, and more.


Mobile site
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
USA Counties

Compiles useful demographic, economic, and governmental information spanning several years and sources for county comparisons and profiles.

Access: All
USP-NA (U.S. Pharmacopeia)

A guide through the pharmaceutical process. A source for FDA-enforceable quality standards for drugs, dietary supplements, excipients, testing procedures, assays, analytical methods and more.

Access: John Jay
VictimLaw

Information on victims rights and protections including Constitutional provisions, statutes, court rules, administrative code provisions, case summaries, and attorney general opinions. Includes overviews of the justice system and a glossary.

Access: All
Vital Statistics on American Politics

Provides summary data on political behavior such as voter turnout, election results, public opinion, media trends, campaign financing and more. Some charts provide data from the 1790s, but most focus on the 1940s to 2008. Data can be downloaded.

Access: John Jay
Wall Street Journal

Fulltext of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the Present.

Access: John Jay
Web of Science

Searching and Citation checking through the use of Science Citation Index (from 1997), Social Science Citation Index (from 1956), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).

Access: John Jay
WESTLAW

Federal and state laws and cases and law review articles. For use by John Jay students and faculty only. For access, show your John Jay ID at the reference desk.

Westlaw Campus

State and federal cases, law reviews, news information and legal reference sources like American Jurisprudence, the ALR, and the Keycite citator service.

Access: John Jay
Wiley Online Library

Full text of over 1400 journals from the newly merged Wiley-Blackwell Publishers.

Access: John Jay
Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000

Brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, audio recordings, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
World Constitutions Illustrated (Hein Online)

Provides access to the current constitution of every country in its native language (English translations for most), and links to related scholarly articles, books, bibliographies, and web sites.

Access: John Jay
World Health Organization Statistical Information System

A guide to health and health-related statistical information from the World Health Organization. Includes statistics on AIDS/HIV and other diseases.

Access: All
World Legal Information Institute

A free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility providing access to over 1230 databases from 123 jurisdictions developed collaboratively by 14 Legal Information Institutes including the Cornell Legal Information Institute.  A good resource for finding contemporary legal materials from foreign countries.

Access: All
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean

Brings together primary source documents relating to Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds; reference materials; maps; statistics; audio and video. Covers  politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science and technology.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
WorldCat

A union catalog of libraries around the world. Includes books, media, manuscripts, and other formats dating back to the 12th century.

Alternate access via library barcode
Mobile site
Access: CUNY
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Journal articles and book abstracts in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage from 1975 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee