Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Environmental studies

** Guide to Environmental Justice

A library guide to researching topics in environmental justice.

Academic OneFile (GALE)

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. (from NOVELny))

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
AGRICOLA (USDA.gov)

Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Useful for forensic science.

Access: All
America History and Life (EBSCO)

Index and some fulltext to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Inlcudes CLIO notes (see top of interface) providing chronologies and brief summaries of  significant events and themes in history.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Annual Reviews

Collection of Annual Review Journals featuring literature reviews in the fields of Social Science.

Access: John Jay
AnthroSource

From the  American Anthropology Association, provides full access to AAA's current publications including  an archive of all AAA journals.

Access: John Jay
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (SAGE)

Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.  Also Reports on international topics such as torture, nationalization of energy resources, peacekeeping around the world, etc. Coverage from 1923 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary (ProQuest)

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Econlit (EBSCO)

Access to articles in international economic journals, as well as essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Coverage from 1969 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ProQuest)

Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection (GALE)

A subject collection of periodicals and unique reference sources from Gale Academic Onefile.

Access: John Jay
GreenFILE (EBSCO)

Scholarly, government and general-interest information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
National Geographic Magazine Archive (GALE)

The complete archive from 1888 to 1994 of the award-winning magazine, which features in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and the environment; and spectacular photographic essays.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (GALE)

Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, and multimedia on social issues. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Risk Abstracts (ProQuest)

Links to articles dealing with risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Science Direct

Access to journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
SCOPUS

Access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)

Journal articles and book abstracts in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage from 1975 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Subscribe to Environmental studies