Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Ethnic studies

** Guide to Ethnic Studies and Multicultural America

A library guide to researching topics in ethnic studies and multicultural America

** Guide to Latin American Studies

A library guide to researching topics in Latin American Studies.

Access: All
America History and Life (EBSCO)

Index and some fulltext to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Inlcudes CLIO notes (see top of interface) providing chronologies and brief summaries of  significant events and themes in history.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
American Factfinder (US.gov)

Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas based on  several censuses and surveys. Includes the following data:

  • American Community Survey   
  • American Housing Survey  
  • Annual Economic Surveys   
  • Annual Surveys of Governments   
  • Census of Governments  
  • Decennial Census  
  • Economic Census 
  • Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation 
  • Population Estimates Program   
  • Puerto Rico Community Survey
Access: All
American History in Video (Alexander Street)

More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
AnthroSource

From the American Anthropological Association, includes current issues of several of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, plus an electronic archive of all AAA journals.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Black Drama (Alexander Street)

Full text of plays by playwrights from the USA, the Caribbean, and English-speaking countries in Africa. Excellent source for Harlem Renaissance writers.

Access: John Jay
Black Thought and Culture (Alexander Street)

Contains the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, and includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other ephemeral material.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Census of Population and Housing 2010 (US.gov)

Gateway to the 2010 Census from the U. S. Census Bureau.

Access: All
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary (ProQuest)

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest)

Provides access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street)

750 hours of videos from the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Race and Justice Clearinghouse

An index to selected NGO reports, books and journal articles that focus on race and ethnicity and their interaction with the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems. Includes links to the full text of publications by the Sentencing Project.

Access: all
Slavery and Anti-Slavery (GALE)

Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)

Provides accesses to journals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies from 1983 to the present and indexes material from 1929 to 1983.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)

Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (GALE)

Brings together primary source documents relating to Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds; reference materials; maps; statistics; audio and video. Covers  politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science and technology.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Subscribe to Ethnic studies