First-year friendly sources
** How to Use the LibraryA guide to using John Jay's library and its resources. |
Academic OneFileAccess to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. For movie reviews search by document type. (from NOVELny) Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
Academic Search CompleteAccess to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study. Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
American History in VideoMore than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Note: The content of this collection is now available through Academic Video Online (AVON/Alexander Street Press). Access level: John Jay
 |
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth CenturyBrings together primary source documents relating to Latin America and the Caribbean; original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more. Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
Biography In ContextMore than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study, including videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
Biography Reference CenterOriginal biographical profiles plus feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, obituaries, and images. Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
Britannica AcademicMulti-disciplinary reference resource designed for college and academic libraries providing access to over 100,000 articles; 1,000s of illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and over 75,000 definitions -- including pronunciation guides and word histories -- from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
CQ AlmanacChronicles and analyzes major bills and legislation in the House and Senate from 1945 through 2012. Includes legislative overviews, key votes, vote studies, roll call votes and public laws. Access level: John Jay
|
CQ Researcher Plus ArchiveExplores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Also Reports on international topics such as torture, nationalization of energy resources, peacekeeping around the world, etc. Coverage from 1923 to the present. Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in VideoOver 400 documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals in the criminal justice system. Note: The content of this collection is now available through Academic Video Online (AVON/Alexander Street Press). Access level: John Jay
|
EBSCOhost Academic Search CompleteAccess to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study. Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context)Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations. Reader-friendly; may be especially appreciated by non-science majors and beginning science students. Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
Gale Virtual Reference Library (now called Gale EBooks)Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more. Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
Global Issues In ContextFocuses on issues beyond the United States, with news articles, videos, statistics, reference materials & some academic articles. Includes foreign, English language newspaper articles written for readers in other countries. User friendly; focus is on broad topics. Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
Health & MedicineAccess to nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, reference books, newsletters and consumer health magazines (from NOVELny).
Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextAccess viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, and multimedia on social issues (from NOVELny). Access level: CUNY
Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
|