Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Forensic science

** Guide to Forensic Science

A library guide to researching topics in forensic science

AGRICOLA

Index to books and journal articles in agriculture; useful for forensic science.

American Chemical Society Journals

Full-text of articles from a collection of the American Chemical Society journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
ChemID

A dictionary of chemicals, synonyms, structures, and regulatory list information.

Access: All
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences

Electronic equivalent of the 3-volume encyclopedia.

Access: John Jay
FireINF

Index to documents concerning fire, emergency management and forensics; some documentation of European legislation in these area, with heavy focus on British publications.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
FORENSICnetBASE

A searchable collection of over 300 reference books in forensic science and related fields.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
General Science Full Text

Access to popular and professional science journals published in the U.S. and Great Britain. Coverage from 1984 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Medline (via PubMed)

National Library of Medicine's database (via PubMed interface) of millions of references to articles published in licensed or freely available biomedical journals.

Access: All
Medline with Full Text (EBSCOhost)

Provides many of the materials indexed in Medline. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
MEDLINEplus

Provides access to authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and other organizations as well as drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

Access: All
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)

Searches and often provides the full text of federal, state, local, and foundation reports, as well as abstracts of journal articles and other websites.

Access: All
Pubmed

Searches citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some are free or available via a John Jay subscription. Some are for sale.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: all
Science Direct

Access to journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Scirus

Finds scientific information on the Internet by searching a combination of web information, preprint servers, digital archives, and patent and journal databases.

Access: John Jay
SCOPUS

Access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Web of Science

Searching and Citation checking through the use of Science Citation Index (from 1997), Social Science Citation Index (from 1956), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).

Access: John Jay
Subscribe to Forensic science