Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Public management

** Guide to Public Management and Administration

A library guide to researching topics in public management and administration

Academic OneFile (GALE)

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. (from NOVELny))

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Business Insight Essentials (GALE)

Information on companies, markets and industries from business and trade journals, newspapers, downloadable directory profiles, and market and rankings reports. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

Full text of peer-reviewed journals and magazines, country and industry reports, and case studies covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Census of Population and Housing 2010 (US.gov)

Gateway to the 2010 Census from the U. S. Census Bureau.

Access: All
CQ Almanac (SAGE)

Details about proposed bills and legislation in the House and Senate from 1945 through 2008. Covers topics such as immigration, taxation, health care reform, etc.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Electronic Library (SAGE)

Twelve CQ publications available - including online editions of Congress and the Nation, Supreme Court Yearbook, and Vital Statistics on American Politics.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
CQ Weekly (SAGE)

Weekly reports on the activities of the U.S. Congress including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Coverage from 1983 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Economist Historical Archive (GALE)

The full text of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs, business and trade worldwide.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Emerald Fulltext

A collection of close to two hundred leading management and library and information services journals.

Access: John Jay
Faulkner Security Management Practices

Reports by industry practitioners on facility, IT, network, personnel, financial and legal security, risk and crisis management, and public safety.

Access: John Jay
Infoshare Online

Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data, and more for New York City.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
JSTOR

A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Management and Organization Studies Collection (SAGE)

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in organizations studies, management, business, human resource, marketing, public policy, public administration, and industrial relations. Coverage from 1947 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)

Articles from journals and other periodicals and current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
New York City Charter, Code, and Rules

Searchable and browsable public portal to the laws of New York City including:  New York City Charter,  New York City Administrative Code and the Rules of the City of New York.

Access: All
New York Code, Rules, and Regulations - NYCRR (LexisNexis)

Click on title to access in LexisNexis Academic and then click on TOC - Table of Contents -- in upper left hand side of screen Or arrows to browse.  See subject guide on Finding Legal Information for more information.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
PAIS International (ProQuest)

The Public Affairs Information Service was established to chronicle the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. The database contains and index to journal articles, government documents, grey literature and other materials from 1997 forward.

Access: John Jay
Political Science Full Text Collection (SAGE)

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in political science, American government, and policy studies. Coverage from 1912 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Project MUSE

An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Public Administration Abstracts (EBSCO)

Information on public administration and related areas such as organizational structures, public service personnel, economic issues, taxation, society issues, theory and research in the field.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)

Provides accesses to journals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies from 1983 to the present and indexes material from 1929 to 1983.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
TRACFED

Data about federal enforcement activities -- criminal, civil, and administrative -- including detailed information about federal staffing, federal enforcement agencies, and income and demographic statistics.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Transportation Article File

Index to articles in journals and books on transportation from Northwestern University's Transportation Library.

Access: All
Transportation Research Information Service (TRIS) Online

Provides access to 400,000 bibliographic records covering transportation research published in books, journal articles, technical reports and other media

Access: All
Urban Studies Abstracts (EBSCO)

Articles and reports as well as book abstracts about crime and other urban problems, possible solutions, studies of police departments, social welfare agencies, and more.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
USA Counties (US.gov)

Compiles useful demographic, economic, and governmental information spanning several years and sources for county comparisons and profiles.

Access: All
Vital Statistics on American Politics (SAGE -CQ)

Provides summary data on political behavior such as voter turnout, election results, public opinion, media trends, campaign financing and more. Some charts provide data from the 1790s, but most focus on the 1940s to 2012. Data can be downloaded.

Access: John Jay
Westlaw Campus

State and federal cases, law reviews, news information and legal reference sources like American Jurisprudence, the ALR, and the Keycite citator service.

Access: John Jay
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)

Journal articles and book abstracts in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage from 1975 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Subscribe to Public management