Faculty Senate Minutes #341

Thursday, April 2, 2009

3:20 PM

Room 630 T

<u>Present</u> (38): Simon Baatz, Andrea Balis, Elton Beckett, Adam Berlin, Teresa Booker, Marvie Brooks, Erica Burleigh, Elise Champeil, Shuki Cohen, Edward Davenport, JoEllen Delucia, Virginia Diaz, Janice Dunham, DeeDee Falkenbach, Beverly Frazier, Joshua Freilich, Gail Garfield, P. J. Gibson, Maki Haberfeld, Jay Hamilton, Kimberly Helmer, Heather Holtman, Ping Ji, Karen Kaplowitz, Erica King-Toler, Ali Kocak, Tom Litwack, Vincent Maiorino, Nicholas Petraco, Michael Pfeifer, Francis Sheehan, Richard Schwester, Arthur Sherman, Staci Strobl, Robert Till, Shonna Trinch, Roberto Visani, Thalia Vrachopoulos, Valerie West,

<u>Absent</u> (11): Michael Alperstein, Amy Green, Richard Haw, Allison Kavey, Joseph King, Evan Mandery, Mickey Melendez, Tanya Rodriguez, Raul Romero, Jodie Roure, Joshua Wilson

Agenda

- 1. Adoption of the agenda
- 2. Approval of Minutes #340 of the March 16, 2009, meeting
- 3. Report of the Chair
- 4. Selection of the Commencement Poem
- 5. Resolution of a 3-way tie for an at-large seat on next year's Faculty Senate
- 6. Election of 2009-10 At-Large Faculty Senators to the 2009-10 College Council
- 7. Discussion of textbook prices and possible courses of action
- 8. PSC-CUNY Grants Awards
- 9. Elections to College and University governance bodies
- 1. Adoption of the agenda. Noted.
- 2. Approval of Minutes #340 of the March 16, 2009, meeting. Approved.

3. Announcements & Reports. Noted.

4. <u>Selection of the Commencement Poem</u>: Senators Elise Champeil, Amy Green, and Heather Holtman

An invitation to write an occasional poem for this year's commencement had been sent to the entire faculty. The submitted poems were received by President Kaplowitz and transmitted to the Commencement Poem Selection Committee members with all identifying information as to the authors' identities removed. Senators Elise Champeil, Amy, Green, and Heather Holtman, the Committee members, recommended to the Senate the poem "Finish Line, Start Line." Upon being asked to do so, Senator Elton Beckett recited the poem and, upon hearing the poem, the Senate enthusiastically ratified the choice. The author of the poem was then identified: Senator Adam Berlin.

5. Resolution of a 3-way tie in the election to the Faculty Senate

The election by the full-time faculty for at-large members of the 2009-10 Faculty Senate produced a 3-way tie between Gail Garfield, Kim Helmer, and Valerie West. The Senate decided to resolve the tie by the means of a secret, written ballot vote by the Senate. As the result of the vote, Gail Garfield was elected to next year's Faculty Senate. As a result, Kim Helmer's and Valerie West's names will be on the ballot in the second phase of the Faculty Senate elections.

6. Election of 2009-10 At-Large Faculty Senators to the 2009-10 College Council

By secret, written ballot, the Faculty Senate elected the following 2009-10 members of the Faculty Senate to serve on the 2009-10 College Council:

Marvie Brooks – Library
Edward Davenport – SEEK
Karen Kaplowitz – English
Tom Litwack – Psychology
Evan Mandery – Criminal Justice
Nicholas Petraco – Science
Francis Sheehan – Science
Thalia Vrachopoulos – Art & Music
William Allen (adjunct) – Public Administration
Heather Holtman (adjunct) – Counseling

7. <u>Discussion of textbook prices and possible courses of action</u>

The Senate discussed various possible ways of helping our students mitigate the high costs of their textbooks. The following suggestions were made: inform students and faculty about the possibility of textbook rentals; inform faculty about the possibility of ordering ebooks (which are reported to be half the price of print books); inform faculty about the possibility of ordering echapters of books (which are \$2.99 per chapter for the students of one Senator who does this); order departmental textbooks without unneeded chapters and without color printing; order the paperback version of a textbook, which often exists; give students the website of the Guttenberg Project, which has the entire text of many books that are in the public domain; order desk copies and put them on reserve in the Library; purchase copies of texts and textbooks (without using the Library's budget) and put them on reserve; reduce the amount of rental money the College charges the bookstore (although that would result in less revenue for the College to offset its budget challenges, it was pointed out); consider other bookstore vendors; investigate the voucher system for the possibility of making changes. President Kaplowitz said she would confer with Vice President Saulnier, who is chairing an ad hoc taskforce created by President Travis on this issue.

8. PSC-CUNY Grants Awards

The Senate decided to not endorse a Resolution that had been adopted several nights earlier by the University Faculty Senate (UFS) and before that by both the UFS Research Committee and the University Committee on Research Awards (UCRA). This is because the Resolution is based upon a report by CUNY Vice Chancellor for Research Gillian Small that had been leaked but the report was not available to anyone for review.

But the Senate did vote to affirm its support of the following principles: the PSC-CUNY grants should remain at \$3,000-\$6,000 each rather than be made larger which would result in fewer grants being awarded; the grants should be awarded by faculty, only, with no involvement by the provost or other administrators; the grant applications should be evaluated by faculty outside one's own college, either by faculty at a different CUNY college or, as is now the case, by faculty outside CUNY.

9. Elections to College and University Governance Bodies

a. University Faculty Senate

The Senate elected: Gloria Brown-Marshall (Law, PS, CJA), Angela Crossman (Psychology), and Patricia Tovar (Anthropology) to three-year terms as delegates

representing full time faculty and elected Ned Benton (Public Administration), Sergei Cheloukhine (Law, PS, CJA) and Nicholas Petraco (Science) to one-year terms to serve as alternate delegates.

b. Auxiliary Enterprises Board

The Senate elected Carmen Solis (SEEK), Susan Will (Sociology), and Liza Yukins (English) to the faculty positions on this board that decides the expenditures of monies raised by the cafeteria, dining room, bookstore, and other similar revenue generating entities.

c. Student Evaluation of the Faculty Committee

The Senate elected Keith Markus (Psychology) to fill a vacant faculty seat.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:10 PM.