Faculty Senate Minutes #505 John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Thursday, March 5, 2020

1:40 PM

Moot Court NB

<u>Present</u> (28): Chevy Alford, George Andreopoulos, Andrea Balis, Elton Beckett, Ned Benton, Marta Bladek, Teresa Booker, Marta Concheiro-Guisan, Silvia Dapia, Sven Dietrich, Jonathan Epstein, Joel Freiser, Heath Grant, Amy Green, Maki Haberfeld, Karen Kaplowitz, Yuk-Ting (Joyce) Lau, Cyriaco Lopes, Xerxes Malki, Peter Mameli, Mickey Melendez, Catherine Mulder, Hyunhee Park, John Pittman, David Shapiro, Francis Sheehan, Marta Laura Suska, Hung-Lung Wei

<u>Absent</u> (13): Chelsea Binns, Gloria Browne-Marshall, Lissette Delgado-Cruzata, John Gutierrez, Michelle Holder, Lila Kazemian, Erica King-Toler, Edward Paulino, Tara Pauliny, Charles Stone, Rebecca Weiss, Violet Yu, Guoqi Zhang

Guest: Professor Susan Opotow

Agenda

- 1. Adoption of the Agenda
- 2. Adoption of Minutes #504 of the February 18, 2020, meeting
- 3. Announcements
- 4. Election for Dean of Faculty Search Committee
- 5. Election of JJ delegates to the University Faculty Senate
- 6. Discussion: UCASC Proposed Amendment to the Grade Appeals Policy
- 7. Discussion: UCASC Proposed First-Semester Freshman Forgiveness Policy
- 8. Discussion of Draft Strategic Plan Key Performance Indicators
- 9. Discussion of Covid-19 Coronavirus: Campus Planning and Preparation
- 10. Discussion of Draft Strategic Plan
- 11. New Business
 - 1. Adoption of the agenda. Approved.
 - 2. Adoption of Minutes #503 of the December 6, 2019, meeting. Approved as amended.
 - 3. Announcements
 - 4. Election for Dean of Faculty Search Committee

By secret ballot, the Senate elected the following four members of the faculty from among five candidates to serve on the search committee for the position of Dean of Faculty:

Jay Gates – English
Peter Moskos – Law, Police Science, and CJA
Andrew Sidman – Political Science
Monika Son – SEEK

5. <u>Election of John Jay Delegates to the University Faculty Senate</u>

The Senate elected the following to 3-year terms to represent the full-time faculty:

Bettina Carbonell – English Heath Grant – Law, Police Science, CJA Patricia Tovar – Anthropology

The Senate elected the following to a 3-year term to represent adjunct faculty:

Kimora

Continuing to serve 3-year terms are Ned Benton, Angela Crossman, Karen Kaplowitz, and Catherine Mulder.

6. <u>UCASC Proposed Grade Appeals Policy Amendment</u>

President Benton said that he and VP Kaplowitz consulted with Dean Dara Byrne and she agreed with the amendments that the Senate proposed, the language for which Senator Francis Sheehan had drafted. A straw poll was conducted: 24 Senators supported the amendment with these changes; 1 was against; and 3 were not yet sure.

7. UCASC Proposed Freshman Forgiveness Policy

President Benton said that President Mason and Provost Li said that most of the CUNY colleges have some version of this policy. Some asked for more information about this: which colleges have such a policy and how are those different from the one UCASC is proposing. One suggestion was to rename the policy "First-Semester Freshman Forgiveness Policy." Another was to change the word "freshman" to a gender-neutral term; Senator Jonathan Epstein suggested "freshling." Senator Amy Green noted that under item #4, the policy suggests that students meet with financial advisors before forgiveness is applied and yet the granting of forgiveness seems to be set up to take place automatically. Senator Francis Sheehan objected to freshlings receiving forgiveness in cases of serious plagiarism as when a formal complaint is issued and goes through the Office of Academic Dishonesty and there is a finding or an admission by the student that academic dishonesty did take place and the student received an F grade for that reason.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:50 pm.

Submitted by,

Karen Kaplowitz