### Faculty Senate Minutes #537 John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Wednesday, April 6, 2022 1:40 PM

Zoom

<u>Present</u> (32): Alex Alexandrou, Chevy Alford, Ned Benton, David Brotherton, Marta Concheiro-Guisan, Jonathan Epstein, Jessica Gordon-Nembhard, Heath Grant, Maki Haberfeld, Jay Hamilton, Marta-Laura Haynes, Christopher Herrmann, Mohammad Islam, Veronica Johnson, Karen Kaplowitz, Catherine Kemp, Erica King-Toler, Yuk-Ting (Joyce) Lau, Anru Lee, Alexander Long, Samantha Majic, Gerald Markowitz, Mickey Melendez, Patrick Raftery, Maureen Richards, Stephen Russell, Francis Sheehan, Gregory Sheppard, Charles Stone, Fritz Umbach, Adam Wandt, Violet Yu

<u>Absent</u> (6): Andrea Balis, Elton Beckett, Mohamed Ben Zid, Silvia Dapia, John Gutierrez, Jennifer Rosati

**<u>Guest</u>: Professor Angela Crossman** 

Invited Guests: Professor James Cauthen, Associate Provost Allison Pease

#### AGENDA

- 1. Adoption of agenda
- 2. Approval of Minutes #536 of the March 21, 2022, meeting
- **3.** Proposed Resolution on the need for equity in CUNY's distribution of new faculty lines
- 4. Election of Adjunct At-Large Reps to the 2022-23 Faculty Senate
- 5. Election of Faculty Senate Reps to the 2022-23 College Council
- 6. Election of the faculty members of 2022-23 Faculty/Student Disciplinary Committee
- 7. Election of two Faculty Senators to the newly created Space Planning Committee
- 8. Discussion about the Middle States Self-Study Report with the 3 Co-Chairs
- 9. Review of proposed revisions of the Department Election Guidelines
- **10.** Reports from Members of Governance Committees
- 1. Adoption of the agenda. Approved.
- 2. Approval of Minutes #536 of March 22, 2022. Approved.

# **3.** <u>Proposed Resolution on the need for equity in CUNY's distribution of new faculty lines.</u> Approved by unanimous vote

# 4. Election of Adjunct At-Large Reps to the 2022-23 Faculty Senate

The Senate Constitution provides for four adjunct seats, with the adjunct reps to be elected by the adjunct faculty. But because we have only two candidates for the four seats, the Faculty Senate serves as the electorate. Both Jonathan Epstein and Joel Freiser were elected to serve on the 2022-23 Faculty Senate by unanimous vote.

### 5. Election of 7 Faculty Senate Reps to the 2022-23 College Council

The 50-member College Council includes 30 faculty seats, with each academic department having one seat and the remaining seats filled by any method chosen by the Faculty Senate. Since there are now 23 academic departments, 7 seats are to be filled by the Senate for next year's College Council. The Senate cast secret ballots using SimplyVoting. The seven elected as Senate reps to the 2022-23 College Council are:

Ned Benton – Public Management Jonathan Epstein – History Heath Grant – Law, PS & CJA Maki Haberfeld – Law, PS & CJA Karen Kaplowitz – English Anru Lee – Anthropology Francis Sheehan – Sciences

Four Senators were elected to serve as 2022-23 Alternate College Council members: Emily Haney-Caron – Psychology Mohammad Islam – Math & CS Edward Kennedy – English Marie-Helen Maras – Security, Fire & Emergency Management

# 6. Election of the faculty members of 2022-23 Faculty/Student Disciplinary Committee

The Senate elected the following faculty to serve on the 2022-23 Faculty/Student Disciplinary Committee:

3 Faculty to serve as rotating chairs Marsha Clowers – Communication & Theater Arts Stephen Russell – History Toy-Fung Tung – English

6 Faculty to serve as the Faculty Panel Heath Grant – Law, PS & CJA Jennifer Holst – Math & CS Ali Kocak – Math & CS

# Thomas Kubic – Sciences Jose Olivo – Math & CS Shilpa Viswanath – Public Management

### 7. Election of two Faculty Senators to the newly created Space Planning Committee

A Space Planning Committee has just been created by the administration, for which two Senators need to be elected. The committee will have 3 faculty members: two chosen by the Senate and a library faculty member chosen by the library faculty. The Senate elected Ned Benton and Karen Kaplowitz.

### 8. Discussion about the Middle States Self-Study Report with the 3 MS Co-Chairs

The three Middle States Self-Study and Reaccreditation Co-Chairs are Ned Benton, James Cauthen, and Allison Pease. The three explained that the self-study was created by the 7 Working Groups, which comprise 80 faculty, staff, and students. The three co-chairs are now visiting groups across campus for feedback about the report and will continue doing so until May 1. Then the Steering Committee – the chairs of the 7 working groups and the three co-chairs will review comments and incorporate them. They explained that the feedback can focus on a particular chapter or on a few chapters or on the entire report. There is an online feedback form. The deadline for comments is May 1.

VP Karen Kaplowitz praised the Self-Study, saying it is truly excellent and that it is interesting, readable, and thorough. She added that having been one of the three co-chairs of the last Middle States self-study and reaccreditation process, she can attest to the extraordinary amount of time that is required of the 3 co-chairs and thanked Ned, Jim, and Allison. She did recommend that section 3.3.1. on p.53 about the qualifications of our faculty be expanded, given that the text currently speaks only of our criminal justice faculty. She noted that we have world class historians, composers, artists, poets, philosophers, and others and that we are, after all, a liberal arts college.

President Benton praised the proposal to revise the structure of the assessment committee as well as the recommendations to improve faculty hiring, onboarding, and personnel processes.

The Chair of the external team who will come to John Jay for a site visit is the provost at the University of Maryland in. Baltimore County, which is an outstanding minority-serving institution. This is a great opportunity to learn from him. The team will make its site visit on March 13,14, and 15, 2023. Everyone must be on campus and available for a meeting any of these three days and at any time.

During this summer the 3 co-chairs will work with the steering committee to finalize the selfstudy. In the fall, they will update the self-study with the latest data. The chair of the visiting team, and only the chair, will visit our campus in the fall and we will share a draft of the report with him and he may share notes or not. Then we submit the self-study in mid-January. The team then visits in March and they submit their report and recommendations to the Middle States Commission, which meets in June 2023, after which Middle States informs up of their findings.

# 9. <u>Review of proposed revisions of the Department Election Guidelines</u>

The Department Election Guidelines are being revised by the Legal Counsels of our college. Ned reported that he and Karen asked that the Guidelines be sent to every full-time member of the faculty so all will know the rules and it was agreed that this would be done.

# 10. <u>Reports from Members of Governance Committees</u>

President Benton reported from the Ceremonial Occasions Committee that graduation will be on Tuesday, May 31, at the tennis complex in Queens. The graduating class of 2020 will join the morning session at 10:00 AM and the graduating class of 2021 will join the class at the afternoon session at 4:30 pm. Full-time faculty will have their regalia rented at no cost by the college if they order by April 15.

Senator Erica King-Toler reported from the Budget Advisory Committee that we are missing \$3.5 million in revenue because our enrollment is down but hat our Auxiliary Corp balances are stable until 2025

The meeting was adjourned at 2:52 pm.

Provided by Karen Kaplowitz