Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

Sociology

** Guide to Sociology

A library guide to researching topics in sociology

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHost)

Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Annual Reviews

Collection of Annual Review Journals featuring literature reviews in the fields of Social Science.

Access: John Jay
Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute

Indexes anthropology and related journals back to the 1970's. Excellent source for cross-cultural studies of crime, drug use, and violence.

Access: All
Census of Population and Housing 2010

Gateway to the 2010 Census from the U. S. Census Bureau.

Access: All
Contemporary Women's Issues

Journal articles, reports, newsletters, and articles from alternative press sources.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)

Access: John Jay
Ebrary

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.

Access: John Jay
Ethnic Newswatch

Access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Ethnographic Video Online

750 hours of videos from the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Films on Demand

Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Gale Academic OneFile

Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

An index to the social sciences that is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.

Access: John Jay
JSTOR

A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Sage Knowledge Collection

A searchable collection of subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers. Formerly called Sage e-Reference Collection.

Access: John Jay
Sage Sociology Full Text Collection

Searchable collection of Sage Journals in social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems published by Sage. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
SCOPUS

Access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Social Explorer

Displays interactive maps of U.S. Census data going back to 1790.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Social Sciences Full Text

Provides accesses to journals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies from 1983 to the present and indexes material from 1929 to 1983.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Social Services Abstracts

Accesses journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, and current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

Access: John Jay
SocINDEX with Full Text

Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Sociological Abstracts

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Web of Science

Searching and Citation checking through the use of Science Citation Index (from 1997), Social Science Citation Index (from 1956), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).

Access: John Jay
Subscribe to Sociology