Lloyd Sealy Library
Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay College of Criminal JusticeLloyd Sealy Library | HomeJohn Jay College of Criminal Justice

P

** Guide to Public Management and Administration

A library guide to researching topics in public management and administration

PAIS International

The Public Affairs Information Service was established to chronicle the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. The database contains and index to journal articles, government documents, grey literature and other materials from 1997 forward.

Access: John Jay
Palgrave Connect

Thousands of ebooks published by Palgrave Macmillan in the humanities, social sciences, and business.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
PBS Video Collection

This collection of documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service contains a core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. It includes access to the films and series Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.”

Access: John Jay
Philosopher's Index

Index to books and journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages with some links to full text. Coverage from 1940 to the present.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PILOTS

Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health conditions resulting from traumatic events.

Access: John Jay
Praeger Security International Online

Primary documents, books, and weekly commentary concerning foreign policy, military matters and security issues such as border control, disaster response, transportation security and terrorism.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings from the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.

Access: All
Professional Development Collection

Highly specialized collection of electronic information for professional educators, professional librarians and education researchers.

Access: CUNY
Project MUSE

An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Protection of Assets

Online access to the Protection of Assets Manual and Bulletin, the basic manual for security personnel.

Access: John Jay
Psyc Combined Databases

Search PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts), PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycEXTRA all together with one search.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycARTICLES

Thousands of articles from journals published by the APA and allied organizations. Coverage from 1988 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
PsycBOOKS

Books published by the APA, including 700 classics and more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycCRITIQUES

Reviews of books and films from the APA.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
PsycEXTRA

Companion database to the scholarly PsycINFO database. It consists of technical and annual reports, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Psychiatry Online

The homepage of the American Psychiatric Association with links to several of its journals, textbooks, and the DSM-5.

Access: John Jay
Psychological Experiments Online

Psychological Experiments Online  is a multimedia collection that pairs audio and video recordings of experiments in psychology with thousands of pages of primary-source documents.It includes notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, and final reports in topics from obedience to authority and conformity to operant conditioning.

Access: John Jay
PsycINFO

The most comprehensive index and access to materials in psychology articles and books. Coverage from 1887 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: CUNY
Public Administration Abstracts

Information on public administration and related areas such as organizational structures, public service personnel, economic issues, taxation, society issues, theory and research in the field.

Access: John Jay
Purchased with the Student Technology Fee
Public Library of Law

A collection of free law materials including case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, and federal and state constitutions.

Access: All
Pubmed

Searches citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some are free or available via a John Jay subscription. Some are for sale.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access: all
Subscribe to P