Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Databases freely available to the public


** How to Use the Library

A guide to using John Jay's library and its resources.

Access: All
**Library Guide to Open Access Publishing Access: All
**Zero-cost (to students) textbook alternatives

A library guide to teaching and learning materials freely available on the web and via the John Jay College library. 

Access: All
AGRICOLA

Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Useful for forensic science.

Access: All
Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database

Portal created by he National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)  to support researchers and practitioners searching for information related to alcohol research. Includes links to a number of databases, journals, and Web sites focused on alcohol research and related topics. Also included is a link to the archived Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (ETOH), produced by NIAAA from 1972 through December 2003.

Access: All
American Factfinder

Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas based on  several censuses and surveys. Includes the following data:

  • American Community Survey   
  • American Housing Survey  
  • Annual Economic Surveys   
  • Annual Surveys of Governments   
  • Census of Governments  
  • Decennial Census  
  • Economic Census 
  • Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation 
  • Population Estimates Program   
  • Puerto Rico Community Survey
Access: All
American Memory Collections

Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress' National Digital Library Program.

Access: All
Amnesty International Library

Makes available the text of news and newsletters, reports, actions, press releases, and other information about human rights issues around the world.

Access: All
ArXIV

Well-established open-access pre-print server hosting unpublished e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.

Access: All
bioArXiv

A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

Access: All
Bureau of Justice Statistics

Searchable statistical reports on all aspects of criminal justice in the US.

Access: All
Census of Population and Housing 2010

Gateway to the 2010 Census from the U. S. Census Bureau.

Access: All
ChemIDPlus

Information on over 400,000 chemicals including synonyms, structures, and regulatory  information from the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Access: All
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Provides access to  America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Access: All
CORE - (U.K.)

Search for open access scholarly articles from institutions across the world.  CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.

Access: All
CORE: Open Access for the Humanities

Articles, book chapters and other documents authored by humanities researchers and posted on Humanities Commons, a non-profit, academic social networking site.

Access: All
CoreData.nyc

Research tool for New York City housing and demographic information created by the Furman Center at NYU.

Access: All
Country Studies

Library of Congress authored books describing and analyzing the political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions of over 100 countries

Access: All
Criminal Justice Data for New York State

Searchable statistical reports on criminal justice in NY state from the NY Division of Criminal Justice Services.

Access: All
Criminal Trial Transcripts Collection, Lloyd Sealy Library

An index to the Lloyd Sealy Library's Trial Transcripts of the County of New York 1883-1927. Several transcripts have been digitized and are available online.

Access: All
CUNY+ Catalog

Find books, media and electronic resources in John Jay and and all CUNY Libraries.

Access: All
Digital Collections, Lloyd Sealy Library

Photographs, images, and other materials digitized from the Special Collections at John Jay College Library.

Access: All
Digital Commons Network

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. 

Access: All
Directory of Open Access Books

A discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license.

Access: All
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

A curated, independent, searchable directory of open access peer-reviewed journals.

Access: All
Drug Information Portal

A gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.

Access: All
Europeana

Europeana provides direct access to more than 15 million photos, paintings, film clips, audio files, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers, and archival papers from major European cultural institutions.

Access: All
Fatal Encounters

National database of people killed during interactions with law enforcement since 2000. Content based on a combination of media sources, public documents and information uploaded by volunteers.   Users can search by name or by state,  then depending on results, can search by county, year, age, race or signs of mental illness.

Note: This database is a work in progress, and like any open web resource, seek to corroborate any data with other sources such as the Uniform Crime Reports database maintained by the FBI and accessible through the library website.

Access: All
FedStats

Gateway to U.S. government statistics from over 100 agencies.

Access: All
Finding legal information libguide

A guide to finding out more about legal topics, written by a Lloyd Sealy Librarian.

Access: All
FIREDOC

Index to over 70,000 technical documents, conference proceedings, and journal articles on all aspects of fire science, safety and engineering; some entries have links to online BFRL Publications.

Access: All
Flickr: the Commons

The project currently includes over 200,000 images from more than 50 international cultural heritage institutions.

Access: All
Forensic science libguide

A guide to finding out more about forensic science topics, written by a Lloyd Sealy Librarian.

Access: All
Getty Publications Virtual Library

Provides free online access to more than 250 backlist titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute, with new titles added on an ongoing basis.

Access: All
Google Book Search

Google is in the process of scanning complete books from some of the world's great libraries. Books in the public domain can be read in their entirety. Some books will display in part.

Access: All
Google Scholar

Crawls (indexes) the content of publishers' websites, scholarly journals, indexes, academic websites, institutional repositories, etc. to find information of a scholarly nature. Does not provide comprehensive coverage of any one field. Enter through the library's website so that you will be linked to the library's licensed resources. 

Access: All
GPO U. S. Government Printing Office

Catalog to the official and authentic government publications of Congress and Federal agencies.

Access: All
Guide to Law Online

An annotated guide to national and international sources of government and legal information prepared by the Law Library of Congress; includes links to treaties, constitutions, and codes.

Access: All
Historic American Newspapers

Contains historic newspapers from 1836-1922 and a U.S. Newspaper Directory for American newspapers published between 1690-present. Website produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program in partnership with the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Access: All
IEEPassport.org

Comprehensive search engine for exploring 9,500 study abroad programs. Directory by country, field of study, cost, length of study, etc.  Includes sources of scholarship funding, internships, and other information about study abroad.

Access: All
IMDb

Collection of movie information. IMDb tries to catalog every pertinent detail about a movie, from who was in it, to who made it, to trivia about it, to filming locations, and even where one can find reviews and fan sites on the web.

Access: All
Kanopy at the New York Public Library

Available to NYPL card holders age 13 and older. More than 30,000 feature films, documentaries, foreign language, and training videos.

Access: All
Killed by Police

Aggregates corporate news reports and Facebook pages of people killed by nonmilitary law enforcement officers, whether in the line of duty or not, and regardless of reason or method. Inclusion implies neither wrongdoing nor justification on the part of the person killed or the officer involved. The post merely documents the occurrence of a death.   Searchable by year beginning May 2013. 

Note: This database is a work in progress, and like any open web resource, seek to corroborate any data with other sources such as the Uniform Crime Reports database maintained by the FBI and accessible through the library website.

Access: All
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)

Portal to select  internet resources relating to Latin American studies organized by subject and country, providing access to a wide variety of full-text resources.

Access: All
Medline via PubMed

National Library of Medicine's database (via PubMed interface) of millions of references to articles published in licensed or freely available biomedical journals.

Access: All
MedlinePlus

Provides access to authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and other organizations as well as drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

Access: All
MetPublications

A portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive book and online publishing program with close to 700 titles published from 1964 to the present.

Access: All
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

Data collections relating to criminal justice from federal and state agencies, and grant-funded projects. Provides documentation, and browsing and downloading access to most of the data.

Access: All
National Registry of Exonerations

Provides detailed information about  all known exonerations of innocent criminal defendants in the United States from 1989 to the present.  Includes statistical and interactive displays that allow you to sort the data based on different issues including by DNA and Non-DNA exonerations, type of crime, race and contributing factors.

Access: All
NCBI bookshelf

A growing collection of searchable biomedical books hosted by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, which advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Access: All
NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Searches and often provides the full text of federal, state, local, and foundation reports, as well as abstracts of journal articles and other websites.

Access: All
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations; full-text is free for all; excellent source for international dissertations.

Access: All
New York City Charter, Code, and Rules

Searchable and browsable public portal to the laws of New York City including:  New York City Charter,  New York City Administrative Code and the Rules of the City of New York.

Access: All
New York City Crime Map

Interactive crime map created by the NYPD showing date and location for  the seven major NYS penal law felonies (murder, rape, robbery, felonious assault, burglary, grand larceny and grand larceny motor vehicle). Data available for current and previous calendar year and by month within each period.

Access: All
New York Public Library Databases

Holders of New York Public Library cards have access to 100s of electronic databases, many of which are accessible wherever you have an Internet connection.

Any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge. You can apply for a NYPL card online and pick it up at the nearest NYPL location.  

Access: All
New York State Slavery Records Index

A searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and their owners, beginning as early as 1525 and ending during the Civil War. Data comes from census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents and many other sources. The index contains over 35,000 records and it is expected to grow as John Jay College professors and students locate and assemble data from additional sources.

Access: All
Newspaper archives

Freely available list of newspaper archives.

Access: All
NYC Department of Records and Municipal Archives Photo Gallery

Online gallery with more than 900,000 images—the largest collection of historical images of New York City in the world. The Online Gallery provides free and open research access to items digitized from the Municipal Archives' collections, including photographs, maps, motion pictures and audio recordings. 

Read the full press release

Access: All
NYPL Digital Collections

Explore 700,000+ items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. New materials are added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Access: All
NYS Historic Newspapers

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.

Access: All
Occupational Outlook Handbook

Biennial publication of the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Describes what workers do, working conditions, training and education needed, earnings and job prospects in a wide variety of occupations.

Access: All
Online Books Page

Provides author, title, and subject access to hundreds of thousands of non-copyrighted online books freely available on the Web.

Access: All
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings from the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.

Access: All
PsyArXiv

A fairly new searchable preprint server for hosting unpublished academic papers in psychology.  Access: All
Public Library of Law

A collection of free law materials including case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, and federal and state constitutions.

Access: All
Public Library of Science (PLoS)

Well known open access publisher, founded as a non-profit in 2001 to transform research communication by publishing journals with rigorous reporting and peer review.  

Access: All
Pubmed

Searches citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some are free or available via a John Jay subscription. Some are for sale.

Access: All
PubMed Central

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). 

Access: All
Science LibGuide

How to find articles, books and more written by scientists. A guide to finding out more about science topics, written by a Lloyd Sealy Librarian.

Access: All
SocArXiv

SocArXiv is a free and publicly accessible platform for social scientists to upload working papers, pre-prints, published papers, data, and code.

Access: All
SSRN

Very large, well established repository of social science (and other) academic papers.  It was founded in 1994 as an open repository, but bought in 2017 by a for-profit publisher, Elsevier.  The vast majority of the papers hosted on the site are free to download. 

Access: All
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Entries are maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field. Access is unlimited and free to everyone.

Access: All
Supreme Court Database (funded by the National Science Foundation)

Provides legal scholars with extensive data, like background issues, reasons for acceptance, chronology, outcome impacts, and judge's opinions, for Supreme Court Cases since 1953. Funded by the National Science Foundation.

Access: All
TOXNET

Indexes journal articles, books, and reports (written for scientists) on the toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

Access: All
Transportation Article File

Index to articles in journals and books on transportation from Northwestern University's Transportation Library.

Access: All
Transportation Research Information Service (TRIS) Online

Provides access to 400,000 bibliographic records covering transportation research published in books, journal articles, technical reports and other media

Access: All
U.S. Fire Administration Library

Library catalog of the National Fire Academy. Indexes journal articles, books, and reports in fire science and emergency management. Items not owned by John Jay may be available via Interlibrary Loan.

Access: All
Umbra Search

A searchable collection of over 500,000 primary source documents relating to African American history and culture digitized by over 1,000 libraries libraries and archives across the country.

Access: All
Uniform Crime Reports

The FBI's compendium of crime statistics. It includes volumes from 1995 to the present. The print version is available at the Reference Desk.

Access: All
VictimLaw

Information on victims rights and protections including Constitutional provisions, statutes, court rules, administrative code provisions, case summaries, and attorney general opinions. Includes overviews of the justice system and a glossary.

Access: All
World Health Organization Statistical Information System

A guide to health and health-related statistical information from the World Health Organization. Includes statistics on AIDS/HIV and other diseases.

Access: All
World Legal Information Institute

A free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility providing access to over 1230 databases from 123 jurisdictions developed collaboratively by 14 Legal Information Institutes including the Cornell Legal Information Institute.  A good resource for finding contemporary legal materials from foreign countries.

Access: All