Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

 

Open access encyclopedia providing detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

A free, preprint server for medical research. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Interactive visualization tools, downloadable datasets and rigorous research on New Yorkers’ health provided by the New York City Health Department.  

Includes data about the social, economic and health conditions and outcomes of New Yorkers, neighborhood-by-neighborhood;  over 200 NYC environmental health indicators in charts, maps and scatter plots; and tools to analyze  and visualize NYC health data from surveys, disease reports and vital records by sex, race/ethnicity, age and other stratifications.

PhilPapers is a directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers and serves as the largest open access archive in philosophy. 

Get persistent DOI links for your references or bibliography.

This OER Metafinder tool from the George Mason University Libraries is a federated search tool that allows users to search metadata from seventeen digital libraries and repositories, including the Digital Public Library of America, OER Commons, OpenStax, MERLOT, HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive and NYPL Digital Collections.

Open Library, a book digitization project of the Internet Archive, provides access to millions of books.   Books in the public domain can be downloaded for free by anyone. Books that are still subject to copyright can be borrowed via controlled digital lending.  An account is not needed to search this collection, but you need to create an Open Library account to either read on their Internet Archive book reader or download to epub/pdf. 
 

A curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus, from the National Library of Medicine.

A library guide to researching primary sources.

Library guide introducing users to archival research

A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

To access this database you must login with your NYPL library card.  If you don't already have a NYPL library card you can apply for one here.

This database is organized by eras covering African American "history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, medicine, and more."  Visit the NYPL  Resource Lists on the following topics for additional online resources:

Atlantic Slave Trade   

Regionalism and Slavery

West African Societies

Middle Passage

To access this database you must login with your NYPL library card.  If you don't already have a NYPL library card you can apply for one here.

This is a digital collection of manuscript and archival materials focusing on the 20th Century including main collections such as:

Black Freedom Movement and Civil Rights (includes records of four of the most important civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE).

Southern Life and Slavery (documenting the realities of slavery "at the most immediate grassroots level in Southern society" providing "some of the most revealing documentation in existence on the functioning of the slave system."

These freely available websites aggregate state legislative information, providing a more uniform and user-friendly search experience and the ability to compare legislative activities across the states.

1. Openstates.org
2. Legiscan.com  
3. BillTrack50.com (must register, but it is free)

a curated collection of publicly-accessible material relating to forensic sciences.  Based at Florida International University.

Interactive map for exploring how demographic, housing, and quality of life characteristics compare across neighborhoods and demographic groups in NYC over the past two decades.

Guide by the Library of Congress on how to find case law on Google Scholar, CourtListener, Caselaw Access Project, Findlaw and Justia.