Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Addiction studies

** Guide to Addiction Studies
Research guide that includes recommended books, journals, and organizations. Includes a page of resources related to the opioid epidemic.
Access level: Freely available to the public
Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (NIH)

Portal created by he National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)  to support researchers and practitioners searching for information related to alcohol research. Includes links to a number of databases, journals, and Web sites focused on alcohol research and related topics. Also included is a link to the archived Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (ETOH), produced by NIAAA from 1972 through December 2003.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts

Indexes subjects in the applied social sciences including mental health services, social work, and substance abuse.  (Content from Applied Science & Technology (formerly owned by Wilson) is now part of this database.)

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
CINAHL

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature with links to full text.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Drug Information Portal

A gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Health Reference Center Academic

Access to nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Access to articles in scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Medline Complete

Provides many of the materials indexed in Medline. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Medline via PubMed (NIH)

National Library of Medicine's database (via PubMed interface) of millions of references to articles published in licensed or freely available biomedical journals.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
MedlinePlus (NIH)

Provides access to authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and other organizations as well as drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
NCJRS — National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Searches and often provides the full text of federal, state, local, and foundation reports, as well as abstracts of journal articles and other websites.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Psyc Combined Databases

Search PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts), PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and PsycEXTRA all together with one search.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee
PsycARTICLES

Thousands of articles from journals published by the APA and allied organizations. Coverage from 1988 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
PsycBOOKS

Books published by the APA, including 700 classics and more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
PsycEXTRA

Companion database to the scholarly PsycINFO database. It consists of technical and annual reports, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee
PsycINFO

The most comprehensive index and access to materials in psychology articles and books. Coverage from 1887 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Tech fee OneSearch
Pubmed (NIH)

Searches citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some are free or available via a John Jay subscription. Some are for sale.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
SocINDEX with Full Text

Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Sociological Abstracts

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
TOXNET (NIH)

Indexes journal articles, books, and reports (written for scientists) on the toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Subscribe to Addiction studies