Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy Library

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Ebook Collections

** Guide to ebooks

How to find and use ebooks in the Library's collection.

ACLS Humanities Ebooks

Collection of over 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities that are recommended and reviewed by scholars frequently cited in the literature offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with other learned societies.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Directory of Open Access Books

A discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Early English Books Online

EEBO contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary)

A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks in a broad variety of disciplines from ProQuest (formerly Ebrary).

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost (formerly Netlibrary)

Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice  (formerly Netlibary)

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Gale EBooks (Gale Virtual Reference)

Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other ebooks in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Google Book Search

Google is in the process of scanning complete books from some of the world's great libraries. Books in the public domain can be read in their entirety. Some books will display in part.

Access level: Freely available to the public
IOP (Institute of Physics) books and journals

A wide range of content from the leading voices in physics.  Includes the physics of spectroscopy, cancer, the environment, green energy, the atmosphere, astronomy, optics & photonics, bio & medical physics, geophysics, nanotechology, materials & plasmas, mathematics & computation, quantum, classical and nuclear physics.  Over 100 journals in the IOPScience Extra Collection, and books in the IOP Publishing Concise Physics, Series 1 through 4, and IOP Publishing Expanding Physics, Series 1 through 4.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Loeb Classical Library (digital)

Provided by the Harvard University Press, this online resource provides more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts in a modern interface that  allows readers to browse, search, bookmark, and annotate content. Content cannot be downloaded or printed.  (Note:  The library  has the print edition of the Loeb Classical Library).

 

OneSearch
NCBI Bookshelf (NIH)

A growing collection of searchable biomedical books hosted by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, which advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Open Library

Open Library, a book digitization project of the Internet Archive, provides access to millions of books.   Books in the public domain can be downloaded for free by anyone. Books that are still subject to copyright can be borrowed via controlled digital lending.  An account is not needed to search this collection, but you need to create an Open Library account to either read on their Internet Archive book reader or download to epub/pdf. 
 

Access level: Freely available to the public
PsycBOOKS

Books published by the APA, including 700 classics and more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Sage Knowledge Collection

Hundreds  of ebooks and subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage and CQ Press.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Taylor & Francis ebooks

Use this platform to search all  Taylor and Francis ebook content including the CRCnetBase database collections at one time; FORENSICnetBASE; InfoSECURITYnetBASE; AND STATSnetBASE

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Very Short Introductions

Short but authoritative introductions to  topics  written by authors who are experts in their field. These short introductions cover a range of subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics and  the social sciences.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Wiley Online Library

Full text of over 1,400 journals from Wiley-Blackwell Publishers and over 20,000 ebooks.  (Note: You can search all Wiley ePublications on this platform, but you can only access the full text of the Wiley journals subscribed to by John Jay).

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Subscribe to Ebook Collections