Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Britannica Academic

Multi-disciplinary reference resource designed for college and academic libraries providing access to over 100,000 articles; 1,000s of  illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and over 75,000 definitions -- including pronunciation guides and word histories -- from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
ChemIDPlus (NIH)

Information on over 400,000 chemicals including synonyms, structures, and regulatory  information from the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Access level: Freely available to the public
CQ Almanac

Chronicles and analyzes major bills and legislation in the House and Senate from 1945 through 2012. Includes legislative overviews, key votes, vote studies, roll call votes and public laws.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
CQ Press Electronic Library

Provides access to CQ publications available online including CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly), Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America and Supreme Court Yearbook. Also provides access to these CQ resources now available on the Sage Knowledge Platform: Congress and the Nation, Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court, Historic Document Series, Vital Statistics on American Politics and the Washington Information Directory. More about how to use CQ publications »

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Dictionary of Old English

Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, complementing the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English. Also see Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus which contains at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. 

Access level: John Jay
DSM Legacy Collection

DSM Legacy collection including DSM-I, DSM-II, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV and DSM-IV-TR. The standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals; each psychiatric disorder with its corresponding diagnostic code is accompanied by a set of diagnostic criteria and descriptive details.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
DSM-5

The most current edition of the standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals; each psychiatric disorder with its corresponding diagnostic code is accompanied by a set of diagnostic criteria and descriptive details.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences

Electronic equivalent of the 3-volume encyclopedia.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Europa World Year Book

One of the world's leading reference works covering political, economic  and commercial information in over 250 countries and territories. Country information includes a profile; statistics; and directories of major organizations in government and politics, society and media, and business and commerce.  Also includes extensive information on international organizations such as the United Nations, the European Union, and NATO.

Access level: John Jay
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Open access encyclopedia providing detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

 

Access level: Freely available to the public
Oxford Art Online

Access to the entire text of the 34 vol. Dictionary of Art from Grove, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with updates and links to images.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Oxford Bibliographies Online

Topic overviews and bibliographies on pertinent topics in African Studies, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Criminal Justice, Islamic Studies, Latino Studies, Military History and  Psychology with links to the full text of sources when available.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Oxford English Dictionary Online

The complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series. The worldwide standard source for English word definitions, word pronunciation, word history and usage.

Access level: CUNY
Oxford Music Online

Comprises The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Sage Knowledge Collection

A searchable collection of subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers.  Formerly called Sage e-Reference Collection.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Scholastic (formerly Grolier Online)

Contains the Encyclopedia Americana, the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and the New Book of Knowledge. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Springerlink Online

Hundreds of scholarly journals and Ebooks published by Springer (or formerly by Palgrave), as well as online Reference books--not all indexed Ebooks are available fulltext. Coverage from 1997 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Entries are maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field. Access is unlimited and free to everyone.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Subscribe to Encyclopedias and dictionaries