Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Environment and sustainability

** Guide to Environmental Justice

A library guide to researching topics in environmental justice.

AGRICOLA (National Agriculture Society)

Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Useful for forensic science.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (formerly known as Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management)

Covers environmental biotechnology, engineering, pollution  in journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
America: History and Life

Index and some fulltext to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Inlcudes CLIO notes (see top of interface) providing chronologies and brief summaries of  significant events and themes in history.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee
Annual Reviews

Collection of Annual Review Journals featuring literature reviews in the fields of Social Science.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
AnthroSource

From the  American Anthropology Association, provides full access to AAA's current publications including  an archive of all AAA journals.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
CQ Researcher Plus Archive

Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.  Also Reports on international topics such as torture, nationalization of energy resources, peacekeeping around the world, etc. Coverage from 1923 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Docuseek2 Complete collection

Over 800 documentaries and social issues films from Icarus, BullFrog and other distributors.  Issues covered include history, politics, anthropology, human rights, and justice and environment broadly interpreted. 

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Econlit

Access to articles in international economic journals, as well as essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Coverage from 1969 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Environmental Studies and Policy

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies from the Academic OneFile and General OneFile databases.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Includes the full text of over 700 journals and reference materials addressing environmental issues. More about this database (PDF) »

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general-interest information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
GREENR (Global Reference On The Environment/Energy/And Natural Resources)

Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations. Reader-friendly; may be especially appreciated by non-science majors and beginning science students.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
National Geographic Magazine Archive

The complete archive from 1888 to 1994 of the award-winning magazine, which features in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and the environment; and spectacular photographic essays.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Science Direct

Access to journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Tech fee OneSearch
SCOPUS

Abstract and citation database to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Sociological Abstracts

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Journal articles and book abstracts in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage from 1975 to the present.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Subscribe to Environment and sustainability