Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy Library

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Latin American and Latina/o studies

** Guide on Latin American and Latina/o tudies
** Guide to Ethnic Studies and Multicultural America

A library guide to researching topics in ethnic studies and multicultural America

** Guide to Latin American and Latina/o Studies

A library guide to research, including recommended reference books, databases, and more

America: History and Life

Index and some fulltext to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Inlcudes CLIO notes (see top of interface) providing chronologies and brief summaries of  significant events and themes in history.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee
American History in Video

More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Note:  The content of this collection is now available through  Academic Video Online (AVON/Alexander Street Press).

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
AnthroSource

From the  American Anthropology Association, provides full access to AAA's current publications including  an archive of all AAA journals.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Diversity Studies Collection

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines from AcademicOneFile and General OneFile databases that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Ethnic Newswatch

Provides access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish. To find movie reviews limit the document type to movie review.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Handbook of Latin American Studies

A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Independent Voices

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)

Portal to select  internet resources relating to Latin American studies organized by subject and country, providing access to a wide variety of full-text resources.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Oxford Bibliographies Online

Topic overviews and bibliographies on pertinent topics in African Studies, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Criminal Justice, Islamic Studies, Latino Studies, Military History and  Psychology with links to the full text of sources when available.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Social Sciences Full Text

Provides accesses to journals in anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies from 1983 to the present and indexes material from 1929 to 1983.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
SocINDEX with Full Text

Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Sociological Abstracts

Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean

Brings together primary source documents relating to Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds; reference materials; maps; statistics; audio and video. Covers  politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science and technology.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
Subscribe to Latin American and Latina/o studies