Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Open access

** Library Guide to Open Access Publishing
Access level: Freely available to the public
ArXiv

Well-established open-access pre-print server hosting unpublished e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
bioArXiv

A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
CORE - (U.K.)

Search for open access scholarly articles from institutions across the world.  CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.

Access level: Freely available to the public
CORE: Open Access for the Humanities

Articles, book chapters and other documents authored by humanities researchers and posted on Humanities Commons, a non-profit, academic social networking site.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
Digital Commons Network

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. 

Access level: Freely available to the public
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

A curated, independent, searchable directory of open access peer-reviewed journals.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Open access encyclopedia providing detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

 

Access level: Freely available to the public
PsyArXiv

A fairly new searchable preprint server for hosting unpublished academic papers in psychology. 
Access level: Freely available to the public
Public Library of Science (PLoS)

Well known open access publisher, founded as a non-profit in 2001 to transform research communication by publishing journals with rigorous reporting and peer review.  

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
PubMed Central

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). 

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
SocArXiv

SocArXiv is a free and publicly accessible platform for social scientists to upload working papers, pre-prints, published papers, data, and code.

Access level: Freely available to the public
SSRN

Very large, well established repository of social science (and other) academic papers.  It was founded in 1994 as an open repository, but bought in 2017 by a for-profit publisher, Elsevier.  The vast majority of the papers hosted on the site are free to download. 

Access level: Freely available to the public
Subscribe to Open access