Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Science (including forensic science)

**Forensic Science:A guide to finding (mostly published) information in forensic science.

A guide to finding out more about forensic science topics, written by a Lloyd Sealy Librarian.

Access level: Freely available to the public
**Science: How to get authoritative information on science topics.

How to find articles, books and more written by scientists. A guide to finding out more about science topics, written by a Lloyd Sealy Librarian.

Access level: Freely available to the public
AGRICOLA (National Agriculture Society)

Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Useful for forensic science.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (formerly known as Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management)

Covers environmental biotechnology, engineering, pollution  in journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
American Chemical Society Journals

Full-text of articles from a collection of the American Chemical Society journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Tech fee OneSearch
Applied Science & Technology Source

Articles in journals and trade publications covering the applied sciences, including engineering, math, physics, and computer technology with coverage dating back to 1913. 

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
bioArXiv

A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
ChemIDPlus (NIH)

Information on over 400,000 chemicals including synonyms, structures, and regulatory  information from the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Access level: Freely available to the public
CINAHL

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature with links to full text.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Drug Information Portal

A gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences

Electronic equivalent of the 3-volume encyclopedia.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

Over 10,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
FORENSICnetBASE

This  collection of over 300 reference books in forensic science and related fields is included in search results on the Taylor and Francis platform. 

Note: It is no longer  possible to limit your search to just this collection.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
General Science Full Text

Access to popular and professional science journals published in the U.S. and Great Britain. Coverage from 1984 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general-interest information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
GREENR (Global Reference On The Environment/Energy/And Natural Resources)

Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations. Reader-friendly; may be especially appreciated by non-science majors and beginning science students.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Provides unlimited, full-text access to the entire IEEE and IET collection of journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, plus all active and historical IEEE standards. Great for electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Medline Complete

Provides many of the materials indexed in Medline. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Medline via PubMed (NIH)

National Library of Medicine's database (via PubMed interface) of millions of references to articles published in licensed or freely available biomedical journals.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
MedlinePlus (NIH)

Provides access to authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and other organizations as well as drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
National Geographic Magazine Archive

The complete archive from 1888 to 1994 of the award-winning magazine, which features in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and the environment; and spectacular photographic essays.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Nature

Nature Journals is a database providing access to the full content of the premier science journal Nature, as well as the following 28 additional journals published by Nature: Nature Biotechnology, Nature Cell Biology, Nature Chemical Biology, Nature Chemistry, Nature Climate Change, Nature Communications, Nature Genetics, Nature Geoscience,  Nature Immunology, Nature Materials, Nature Medicine, Nature Methods, Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Neuroscience, Nature Photonics, Nature Physics, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Cancer, Nature Reviews Drug Discovery, Nature Reviews Endocrinology,  Nature Reviews Genetics, Nature Reviews Immunology, Nature Reviews Microbiology, Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology, Nature Reviews Neuroscience, Nature Structural and Molecular Biology, and Scientific American.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
NCBI Bookshelf (NIH)

A growing collection of searchable biomedical books hosted by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, which advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Access level: Freely available to the public
NCJRS — National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Searches and often provides the full text of federal, state, local, and foundation reports, as well as abstracts of journal articles and other websites.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Pubmed (NIH)

Searches citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some are free or available via a John Jay subscription. Some are for sale.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
PubMed Central

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). 

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
Science Citation Index

Multidisciplinary index to research journals in the sciences, including medicine, mathematics and statistics. 1997 to present.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Science Direct

Access to journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Tech fee OneSearch
SCOPUS

Abstract and citation database to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
TOXNET (NIH)

Indexes journal articles, books, and reports (written for scientists) on the toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Coverage from 1965 to the present.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Very Short Introductions

Short but authoritative introductions to  topics  written by authors who are experts in their field. These short introductions cover a range of subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics and  the social sciences.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Web of Science

Searching and Citation checking through the use of Science Citation Index (from 1997), Social Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975).

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Subscribe to Science (including forensic science)