Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy Library

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Statistics and data sets

** Guide to Statistics

A library research guide to using and finding statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Searchable statistical reports on all aspects of criminal justice in the US.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Census Data (formerly available through American Factfinder)

Census.gov is the new government platform for delivering data through many individual tools (e.g., American FactFinder, OnTheMap, My Congressional District) to a model where those tools’ capabilities are integrated and served on a single platform. including the following data:

  • American Community Survey   
  • American Housing Survey  
  • Annual Economic Surveys   
  • Annual Surveys of Governments   
  • Census of Governments  
  • Decennial Census  
  • Economic Census 
  • Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation 
  • Population Estimates Program   
  • Puerto Rico Community Survey
Access level: Freely available to the public
Census of Population and Housing 2010

Gateway to the 2010 Census from the U. S. Census Bureau.

Access level: Freely available to the public
CIA World Factbook

An annual publication of the CIA providing a two- to three-page summary of the demographics, geography, communications, government, economy, and military of 266 U.S.-recognized countries, dependencies, and other areas in the world. Includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and  Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Access level: Freely available to the public
CoreData.nyc

Research tool for New York City housing and demographic information created by the Furman Center at NYU.

Access level: Freely available to the public
CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection

Find data and analysis on all aspects of American elections. Provides in-depth insight into the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. A video tutorital on how to use this collection can be found at https://youtu.be/abOfvhakHg8

 

 

Access level: John Jay
Crime Report (www.thecrimereport.org)

Comprehensive news service published by the Center for Media, Crime and Justice, at John Jay College, covering challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the United States.

Access level: John Jay
Criminal Justice Data for New York State

Searchable statistical reports on criminal justice in NY state from the NY Division of Criminal Justice Services.

Access level: Freely available to the public
FedStats

Gateway to U.S. government statistics from over 100 agencies.

Access level: Freely available to the public
ICPSR

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research provides access to an archive of social science data from more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations.

It maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files and hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.  

 

Access level: John Jay
Infoshare Online

Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data, and more for New York City.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

Data collections relating to criminal justice from federal and state agencies, and grant-funded projects. Provides documentation, and browsing and downloading access to most of the data.

Access level: Freely available to the public
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers

Full-text of NBER Working Papers from November 1994 to the present -- approximately 500 papers are published annually. The NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.

 Download the newest working papers at   https://www.nber.org/new.html

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
National Registry of Exonerations

Provides detailed information about  all known exonerations of innocent criminal defendants in the United States from 1989 to the present.  Includes statistical and interactive displays that allow you to sort the data based on different issues including by DNA and Non-DNA exonerations, type of crime, race and contributing factors.

Access level: Freely available to the public
New York City Crime Map

Interactive crime map created by the NYPD showing date and location for  the seven major NYS penal law felonies (murder, rape, robbery, felonious assault, burglary, grand larceny and grand larceny motor vehicle). Data available for current and previous calendar year and by month within each period.

Access level: Freely available to the public
NYC Health Data

Interactive visualization tools, downloadable datasets and rigorous research on New Yorkers’ health provided by the New York City Health Department.  

Includes data about the social, economic and health conditions and outcomes of New Yorkers, neighborhood-by-neighborhood;  over 200 NYC environmental health indicators in charts, maps and scatter plots; and tools to analyze  and visualize NYC health data from surveys, disease reports and vital records by sex, race/ethnicity, age and other stratifications.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Social Explorer

Displays interactive maps of U.S. Census data going back to 1790, U.S. election data, U.S. crime data (FBI/UCR), World Development Indicators, and more.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online

Statistics from the current Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics with ongoing updates and the archive back to 1994. The print version is available at the Reference Desk.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.  Current print edition of ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is available at the reference desk -- HA 202.A5.   

 

 
Access level: John Jay
TRACFED

Data about federal enforcement activities -- criminal, civil, and administrative -- including detailed information about federal staffing, federal enforcement agencies, and income and demographic statistics.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee
Uniform Crime Reports (FBI)

The FBI's compendium of crime statistics. It includes volumes from 1995 to the present. The print version is available at the Reference Desk.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Vital Statistics on American Politics

Provides summary data on political behavior such as voter turnout, election results, public opinion, media trends, campaign financing and more. Some charts provide data from the 1790s, but most focus on the 1940s to 2012. Data can be downloaded.

Access level: John Jay
World Health Organization Statistical Information System

A guide to health and health-related statistical information from the World Health Organization. Includes statistics on AIDS/HIV and other diseases.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Subscribe to Statistics and data sets