Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy Library

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Video collections

** Guide to the Library's Video & Film Collections

A quick guide to finding and using videos in the Library's collection

Academic Video Online - AVON (from Proquest & Alexander Street)

66,000 hours of video content from many disciplines on the Alexander Street platform.  The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive titles. There are thousands of award-winning films,  Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee
Alexander Street Press collections

Search all video and other content available on the Alexander Street Press platform.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
American History in Video

More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Note:  The content of this collection is now available through  Academic Video Online (AVON/Alexander Street Press).

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
American Memory Collections (LOC)

Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress' National Digital Library Program.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Counseling and Therapy in Video Volume 1

375 hours of videos of dramatized consultations, counseling sessions, and scenes, as well as documentaries, interviews and lectures. Note: Licensed in perpetuity.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video

Over 400 documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals in the criminal justice system.  Note: The content of this collection is now available through  Academic Video Online (AVON/Alexander Street Press).

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Criminology & Criminal Justice Videos (Sage)

Over 150 hours of videos including documentaries, interviews, and tutorials featuring criminologists talking about their work, case studies that show how that research affects policy and practices; films that take you inside forensics labs, correctional facilities, court rooms and the criminal investigation process.

Access level: John Jay
Docuseek

Selected documentaries and social issues from Icarus, BullFrog and other distributors. Issues covered include history, politics, anthropology, human rights, and justice and environment broadly interpreted. From independent & progressive documentary makers.

 

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Film Platform

Contemporary, award winning documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, chosen for an academic audience.  Subject matter includes human rights, crime, genocide, environment, psychology, politics, sociology, disability studies, African-American studies, Asian studies, Jewish studies, gender studies.    

 

Access level: John Jay
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)

A comprehensive streaming video collection  of 1,000s of full length educational videos and clips covering a broad range of topics.

You can search by title, by keywords in segments, browsing titles alphabetically, and browsing or searching within the subject area. Most of the titles in the collection have closed-captioning and many have interactive transcripts.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Kanopy

We provide access to Kanopy titles if needed by faculty for use in class.   Faculty may request the library purchase a 12 month long license to view a specific title by sending an email to the media librarian  Ellen Sexton  esexton at jjay.cuny.edu  

 

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee
Psychological Experiments Online

Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that pairs audio and video recordings of experiments in psychology with thousands of pages of primary-source documents. It includes notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, and final reports in topics from obedience to authority and conformity to operant. The collection contains over 70 streaming videos totaling more than 45 hours of viewing time. Videos include lectures, presentations, documentaries, experiment footage and interviews.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
PsycTHERAPY (APA) - Trial

PsycTherapy(APA)  is a streaming video database of therapy demonstrations covering more that 100 treatment approaches such as integrated behavioral healthcare, cognitive behavior therapy and acceptance and commitment therapy. Provides clinicians, counselors, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring known therapists.

This database will be available as a trial for 60 days after activation.  Activated February 2021, trial & access ends early April. 

Access level: John Jay
Qwest TV (trial)

Video streaming service dedicated to jazz, soul, funk & world music.  Contemporary and archival concerts, documentaries, interviews with musicians. One year trial until March 2022.west

Access level: John Jay
SAGE Research Methods Videos

Includes over 400  tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. You can search videos by method; by discipline (criminology, economics, sociology, etc.); or by video type (i.e. interview, tutorial, case studies, etc.).

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Swank Motion Pictures

Feature films requested by faculty for curriculum support. Viewable by everyone with a John Jay email address but please note our licenses permit individual or course use only.  Most of the films are from the big Hollywood studios, or overseas equivalent.  

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee
Subscribe to Video collections