Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

C

Census of Population and Housing 2010

Gateway to the 2010 Census from the U. S. Census Bureau.

Access level: Freely available to the public
ChemIDPlus (NIH)

Information on over 400,000 chemicals including synonyms, structures, and regulatory  information from the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Provides access to  America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Access level: Freely available to the public
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Comprehensive source for theory and research in foreign affairs; includes working papers from university research institutes and NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
CINAHL

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature with links to full text.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Journal articles, encyclopedias and handbooks in the fields of communications and mass media.  For film reviews search by document type. For motion pictures search by subject.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Contemporary Women's Issues

A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, “gray” literature, and the alternative press — with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women’s lives in more than 190 countries.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
CORE - (U.K.)

Search for open access scholarly articles from institutions across the world.  CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.

Access level: Freely available to the public
CORE: Open Access for the Humanities

Articles, book chapters and other documents authored by humanities researchers and posted on Humanities Commons, a non-profit, academic social networking site.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
CoreData.nyc

Research tool for New York City housing and demographic information created by the Furman Center at NYU.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Counseling and Therapy in Video Volume 1

375 hours of videos of dramatized consultations, counseling sessions, and scenes, as well as documentaries, interviews and lectures. Note: Licensed in perpetuity.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Country Studies (LOC)

Library of Congress authored books describing and analyzing the political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions of over 100 countries

Access level: Freely available to the public
CQ Almanac

Chronicles and analyzes major bills and legislation in the House and Senate from 1945 through 2012. Includes legislative overviews, key votes, vote studies, roll call votes and public laws.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly)

Weekly reports on the activities of the U.S. Congress including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Coverage from 1983 to the present.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
CQ Press Electronic Library

Provides access to CQ publications available online including CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly), Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America and Supreme Court Yearbook. Also provides access to these CQ resources now available on the Sage Knowledge Platform: Congress and the Nation, Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court, Historic Document Series, Vital Statistics on American Politics and the Washington Information Directory. More about how to use CQ publications »

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
CQ Researcher Plus Archive

Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.  Also Reports on international topics such as torture, nationalization of energy resources, peacekeeping around the world, etc. Coverage from 1923 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
CRCnetBase databases

Use this platform to search all  Taylor and Francis ebook content including the CRCnetBase database collections at one time; FORENSICnetBASE; InfoSECURITYnetBASE; AND STATSnetBASE.  

Note: It is no longer possible to limit your search to just the CRCnetBASEcollections.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Crime Report (www.thecrimereport.org)

Comprehensive news service published by the Center for Media, Crime and Justice, at John Jay College, covering challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the United States.

Access level: John Jay
Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture,1790-1920

Archive containing manuscripts, books, broadsheets and periodicals from 1790 - 1920. Collection covers Europe, North America, India and the Antipodes.  Includes  raw data about crime, its solutions, and the popular response.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext

Provides scholarly articles and annotations of books and book chapters in criminal justice. Coverage from 1968 to the present.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video

Over 400 documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals in the criminal justice system.  Note: The content of this collection is now available through  Academic Video Online (AVON/Alexander Street Press).

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Criminal Justice Data for New York State

Searchable statistical reports on criminal justice in NY state from the NY Division of Criminal Justice Services.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Criminal Justice Periodical Index

Articles and images from national and international publications in criminal justice. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Criminal Trial Transcripts Collection, Lloyd Sealy Library

An index to the Lloyd Sealy Library's Trial Transcripts of the County of New York 1883-1927. Several transcripts have been digitized and are available online.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Criminology & Criminal Justice Videos (Sage)

Over 150 hours of videos including documentaries, interviews, and tutorials featuring criminologists talking about their work, case studies that show how that research affects policy and practices; films that take you inside forensics labs, correctional facilities, court rooms and the criminal investigation process.

Access level: John Jay
CUNY Graduate Center Legacy (Retrospective) Dissertations, 1965-2014

Electronic access to over 12,000 dissertations and capstones from the Graduate Center of the CIty University of New York published between 1965 and 2014. Requires authentication with a CUNY library barcode number. For more information read here.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
CUNY+ Catalog

Find books, media and electronic resources in John Jay and and all CUNY Libraries.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OneSearch
Subscribe to C