Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

G

Gale Literary Sources

Portal for cross-searching literary databases from Gale, including these databases:

 

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Gale Primary Sources

Cross-search dozens of historical archives covering hundreds of years of history through this single platform. Resources include monographs, manuscripts, trial transcripts, newspapers, maps, and photographs. Individual databases collections include :

  • 17th and 18th Centry Burney Collection
  • Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture 1790-1920
  • The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online
  • The Making of the Modern World
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online
OneSearch
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Gartner Resource Center

Research and analysis on the global information technology industry; includes research papers on best practices and emerging industries and technologies.

The Gartner database is currently available only via the CUNY portal.  After logging in, look under the "IT Research" heading for the link to Gartner.

 

Access level: CUNY
Gender Studies Collection

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues from the Academic OneFile and General OneFile databases.

Access level: John Jay
General OneFile

Access to articles in general periodicals, newspapers, reference books, as well as multimedia sources. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, and politics. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
General Science Full Text

Access to popular and professional science journals published in the U.S. and Great Britain. Coverage from 1984 to the present.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Getty Publications Virtual Library

Provides free online access to more than 250 backlist titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute, with new titles added on an ongoing basis.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Global Issues In Context

Focuses on issues beyond the United States, with news articles, videos, statistics, reference materials & some academic articles.  Includes foreign, English language newspaper articles written for readers in other countries.  User friendly; focus is on broad topics.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Google Book Search

Google is in the process of scanning complete books from some of the world's great libraries. Books in the public domain can be read in their entirety. Some books will display in part.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Google Scholar

Crawls (indexes) the content of publishers' websites, scholarly journals, indexes, academic websites, institutional repositories, etc. to find information of a scholarly nature. Does not provide comprehensive coverage of any one field. Enter through the library's website so that you will be linked to the library's licensed resources. 

Access level: Freely available to the public
GPO U. S. Government Printing Office

Catalog to the official and authentic government publications of Congress and Federal agencies.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Grant Forward

Search engine dedicated to helping institutions and individuals find grants to fund their research. It provides a personalized funding recommendation service to simplify the grant search process. 

Please note that users have to set up individual accounts and will be recognized by their email domains.

Access level: John Jay
GreenFILE

Scholarly, government and general-interest information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
GREENR (Global Reference On The Environment/Energy/And Natural Resources)

Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations. Reader-friendly; may be especially appreciated by non-science majors and beginning science students.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Guide to Law Online (LOC)

An annotated guide to national and international sources of government and legal information prepared by the Law Library of Congress; includes links to treaties, constitutions, and codes.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America

Brings together over 500 relevant titles including periodicals, federal legislative histories, congressional hearings, Congressional Research Study (CRS) Reports and Supreme Court Briefs.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Subscribe to G