Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy Library

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

H

Handbook of Latin American Studies

A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Health & Medicine

Access to nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, reference books, newsletters and consumer health magazines  (from NOVELny).

 

 

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Health Policy Reference Center

Articles about health policy and administration in academic journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Access to articles in scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Hein Online

Several historical American and international law collections incuding law reviews and journals from their first volume of publication, the Federal Register, Presidential Documents, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Attorney Generals Opinions, World Constitutions, legal classics, and the newest collection, Slavery in America and the World; History, Culture and Law. A comprehensive user's guide to this database is available at  https://heinonline.org/HeinDocs/HOLUserGuide.pdf.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee
Historic American Newspapers (LOC)

Contains historic newspapers from 1836-1922 and a U.S. Newspaper Directory for American newspapers published between 1690-present. Website produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program in partnership with the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Historical Abstracts

Provides access to academic historical journals that cover the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage is from 1955 to the present.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
History of Capital Punishment Database

Collection of materials from the National Death Penalty Archives on the nature, history, operation, effects, psychology, desirability, and compatibility with religious and moral precepts, of the death penalty.  Includes periodicals, trials, hearings, bibliographies and other related works.

Access level: John Jay
History Vault (available through the NYPL)

To access this database you must login with your NYPL library card.  If you don't already have a NYPL library card you can apply for one here.

This is a digital collection of manuscript and archival materials focusing on the 20th Century including main collections such as:

Black Freedom Movement and Civil Rights (includes records of four of the most important civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE).

Southern Life and Slavery (documenting the realities of slavery "at the most immediate grassroots level in Southern society" providing "some of the most revealing documentation in existence on the functioning of the slave system."

Access level: Freely available to the public
Humanities Source

Articles in all aspects of the humanities including art, literature, music and philosophy, with access dating back to 1907. (Content from Humanities Index (formerly owned by Wilson) is now part of this database.)

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Subscribe to H