Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy Library

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

O

** Library Guide to Open Access Publishing
Access level: Freely available to the public
Occupational Outlook Handbook (DOL)

Biennial publication of the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Describes what workers do, working conditions, training and education needed, earnings and job prospects in a wide variety of occupations.

Access level: Freely available to the public
OER Metafinder tool

This OER Metafinder tool from the George Mason University Libraries is a federated search tool that allows users to search metadata from seventeen digital libraries and repositories, including the Digital Public Library of America, OER Commons, OpenStax, MERLOT, HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive and NYPL Digital Collections.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Online Books Page

Provides author, title, and subject access to hundreds of thousands of non-copyrighted online books freely available on the Web.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Open Library

Open Library, a book digitization project of the Internet Archive, provides access to millions of books.   Books in the public domain can be downloaded for free by anyone. Books that are still subject to copyright can be borrowed via controlled digital lending.  An account is not needed to search this collection, but you need to create an Open Library account to either read on their Internet Archive book reader or download to epub/pdf. 
 

Access level: Freely available to the public
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, and multimedia on social issues (from NOVELny).

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
Oxford Art Online

Access to the entire text of the 34 vol. Dictionary of Art from Grove, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with updates and links to images.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Oxford Bibliographies Online

Topic overviews and bibliographies on pertinent topics in African Studies, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Criminal Justice, Islamic Studies, Latino Studies, Military History and  Psychology with links to the full text of sources when available.

Access level: John Jay
Tech fee OneSearch
Oxford English Dictionary Online

The complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series. The worldwide standard source for English word definitions, word pronunciation, word history and usage.

Access level: CUNY
Oxford Music Online

Comprises The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.

Alternate access via CUNY login credentials
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice

In-depth, peer-reviewed long-form articles on foundational and cutting-edge topics in Criminology and Criminal Justice.

Access level: John Jay
OneSearch
Subscribe to O