Books
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Lloyd Sealy LibrarySkip to content

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Newspapers

Burney Newspaper Collection--17th and 18th Centuries

A comprehensive collection of early English newspapers from London, the British Isles, and colonies, including many American titles.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Provides access to  America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Crime Report (www.thecrimereport.org)

Comprehensive news service published by the Center for Media, Crime and Justice, at John Jay College, covering challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the United States.

Access level: John Jay
Economist Historical Archive

The full text of The Economist from 1843 to 2013. Essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs, business and trade worldwide.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
Ethnic Newswatch

Provides access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish. To find movie reviews limit the document type to movie review.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Foreign Policy magazine

Access Foreign Policy magazine from 1970 to present and its website, which focuses on leading global issues in national security, technology, markets, and energy & resources.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
General OneFile

Access to articles in general periodicals, newspapers, reference books, as well as multimedia sources. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, and politics. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Historic American Newspapers (LOC)

Contains historic newspapers from 1836-1922 and a U.S. Newspaper Directory for American newspapers published between 1690-present. Website produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program in partnership with the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Infotrac Newsstand

Provides access to thousands of newspapers from the U.S. and foreign presses including images, audio and video clips. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
LexisNexis Academic

Federal and state laws and cases, constitutions, municipal codes, law review articles, as well as articles from U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines, trade publications and journals.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
National Newspaper Index

Indexes and provides access when available to the top five U.S. newspapers: The New York Times,The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Coverage from 1977 to the present. (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
National Newspapers Core (see US Major Dailies Collection)

Provides full text access to

  • The New York Times (1980-present)
  • Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
  • Washington Post (1987-present)
  • Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
  • Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Access level: John Jay
New York State Newspapers Infotrac

Access to a few dozen New York newspapers including the NY Post, The NY Times, The Informed Constituent (Albany), The Buffalo News, The Herald American (Syracuse) and Newsday (Long Island). (from NOVELny)

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
New York Times

Full text access to the New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) from June 1, 1980 to present. (Part of  National Newpaper Core database).

Access level: John Jay
New York Times Digital Edition

All members of the John Jay Community with a valid John Jay email address may sign up for complimentary access to the New York Times digital edition (nytimes.com and smartphone apps). Claim or renew your academic pass and see more details.

Access level: John Jay
New York Times Historical File

Full text of articles and page images of the New York Times from 1851 to 2014.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
OneSearch
Newspaper archives

Freely available list of newspaper archives.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources formerly found through the LexisNexisAcademic platform - including federal and state laws and cases, constitutions, municipal codes and law reveiw articles. The  interface  is designed to offer quick discovery across all content types. Personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents are also included.

Top10 Nexis Uni features

 

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: John Jay
NYS Historic Newspapers

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.

Access level: Freely available to the public
Regional Business News

Covers regional business news in metro and rural areas within the United States.

Alternate access via library barcode
Access level: CUNY
US Major Dailies Collecton (formerly National Newspapers Core)

Provides full text access to

  • The New York Times (1980-present)
  • Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
  • Washington Post (1987-present)
  • Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
  • Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Access level: John Jay
Wall Street Journal

Fulltext of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the Present.

Access level: John Jay
Wall Street Journal Digital - complimentary account

All members of the CUNY community can set up an individual account to the Wall Street Journal's digital edition.   

Sign up & get more information »

Westlaw Campus Research

Subscription to database expired October 31, 2018.  Please select another database.

Access level: John Jay
Subscribe to Newspapers